WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Mango alert! May 20, 2010

Filed under: Breakfast,Fruit,Meatless,Oatmeal — WannaBe Chef @ 6:51 pm

I’ve been seeing these new (to me) pancakes floating around the ‘sphere lately, specifically on Kath’s, Jenna’s, and Kailey’s blogs, so I whipped one up this morning.  It was definitely hearty, chewy, dense and a nice twist on the traditional pancake!  Mine was just a teeny touch on the dry side, but that’s probably because I didn’t add the mashed banana that most of the above recipes call for.  Next time, I’ll probably add a splash of milk to thin it out a little bit.

Oatmeal Pancake
makes one serving

Combine in a bowl and chill overnight:
1/3 cup quick oats
2 egg whites
1/2 tsp vanilla extract
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp baking powder
pinch salt
pinch nutmeg

In the morning, the mixture will be very thick – add a splash of milk if desired.  Spread “batter” on a hot skillet that’s been coated in cooking spray.  Cook till golden brown on both sides.  Top as desired (Mine has PB, banana, and light syrup!)

Dinner was a delectable, summer-like quesadilla.  I got this idea from a random magazine clipping somewhere along the way.  The flavor combination of the sweet mango, creamy/spicy cheese and fresh cilantro was amaaazeRebecca, are you out there?  There’s MANGOES in these!  🙂 

Mango Quesadillas

INGREDIENTS:
2 ripe mangoes, roughly chopped
6-8 small, whole wheat tortillas
6-8 slices reduced-fat pepper jack cheese (or shredded if you prefer!)
handful of cilantro, chopped

INSTRUCTIONS:
-Tear up a slice of cheese and distibute evenly over a tortilla.  Follow with cilantro, then mango pieces.  Top with more cheese if desired, then another tortilla.
-Cook on a hot skillet coated in cooking spray (or a little canola oil) until browned.  Flip quesadilla carefully and brown the other side.  Make sure the cheese is all melty inside!
-Remove from pan and let sit for a minute or two.  Cut into wedges and serve.    

I had a little bit of mango leftover, so I mixed it with some Garden Fresh salsa (seriously the BEST salsa in the world, and it’s made in MI too!!) and more cilantro.  I found some blue corn flax chips waaaay in the back of the cupboard and had a little after-dinner snack.  YUMMMM, must make huge vat of this salsa!

 

7 Responses to “Mango alert!”

  1. thehealthyjunky Says:

    That mango quesadilla looks scrumptious. I am a huge Mexican fan and am definitely going to try this one.

  2. bodyhacker Says:

    Love the Oatmeal Pancake – I never thought of making a pancake out of oatmeal but that’s a great idea! We love oatmeal with blueberries in our home and definitely want to try to make this!

    Also the quesadilla looks delicious! Thanks for sharing the great recipes.
    bodyhacker

  3. Rebecca Says:

    OMG I literally just came here to tell you I have a mango sitting on my counter I need you to peel. hahah. That’s so weird!

    • amsterwill83 Says:

      Really?? That is reeeally random and weird! Never fails though, everytime I have a mango, I think of you… then I think of “Mango,” the SNL character hahaha.

      • Rebecca Says:

        Haha yeah, I swear! I opened up your blog specifically to tell you that. How funny! I still haven’t eaten it btw – maybe tonight I’ll tackle it. aghhhhh. haha 🙂

  4. Beth Says:

    Mango salsa is one of my favorite things ever… i actually have a mango in my fridge as we speak.. hmmm!!!

  5. fitandfortysomething Says:

    your pancakes look fabulous!


Leave a Reply

