WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Picture overload and Shirataki noodles May 18, 2010

Filed under: Pasta,Products,Salad — WannaBe Chef @ 7:07 pm

Hello, my little muffins!  Today I bring you breakfast, lunch, followed by an assortment of new goodies I bought (and don’t necessarily need), and dinner.  Let’s jump in…

*****

Breakfast was quick ‘n easy:  2 eggs, scrambled with spinach and 2 slices of extra lean turkey bacon; toasted sandwich thin w/margarine on the side.   

Lunch, course 1 was a giant salad, composed of spinach, strawberries and parmesan cheese.  The dressing I made had approx. 1-2 Tbsp balsamic vinegar, 1/4 tsp agave nectar, squirt of dijon mustard, S&P, and 1 tsp extra virgin olive oil.

Lunch, course 2 was a Cookie Dough Luna Protein bar.  I always feel so naughty eating these because they taste like candy bars 🙂

Then I decided I needed to go to SuperTarget for a “few” things.  Yeah, right, who was I kidding??  Wellll…. about $70 later, I emerged with the “few” things I really needed along with a ton of fun, new things…

*****

–  Coconut extract:  I saw it on clearance and decided I needed it.  I’m thinking it would be excellent in a strawberry lime coconut smoothie.  Any other ideas?? 

–  Vanilla extract:  I just needed more, so I got the big bottle since it was on sale 😉

–  Parmesan & Herb seasoning:  I picked this up solely because I had a coupon. 

–  Prepared ginger:  I have always wanted to try this because peeling and grating the fresh stuff is a pain in the butt.  Plus, I needed some for my dinner tonight… 

–  Vanilla Cranberry PB:  I sent some to my mom in her Mother’s Day box, and she said it was good, so I thought I should try it too.  After 20 minutes of trying to stir it (it was like a brick with oil on top…), I had a taste, and meh, first impression = just OK! 

–  Gummy vitamins:  Bought these just because it’s more fun to eat 2 gummies than swallow a big pill! 

–  Blueberry Clif Bar:  I’ve never seen these before, and they’re only 130 calories, so I picked one up. 

–  Chocolate Cherry Almond Luna Protein bars:  I LOOOVE the cookie dough ones, and I’ve heard mixed reviews of this flavor in blogland, but decided I needed to see for myself!  I’ll let you know what I think once I try one. 

–  Fruit bars:  I freaking LOVE these bars!  They are kind of like 20 fruit roll-ups compacted into a bar, then drizzled with magical white icing (yogurt).  Best thing about them…. 65 calories each!  They were on sale, so I snatched up the last 3 boxes 😉

Dinner was a little experiment with Shirataki noodles.  Wayne had yet another work dinner, so I figured tonight would be the best night to try these.  I found a recipe that I thought would work and got to it.  I used most of the ingredients from the recipe HEREthe one called “Singapore Shirataki Noodles.”  First, let me say that I really loved the flavors of the veggies and sauce in this recipe, and I might try it again sometime with real pasta.  And when I say that, you can probably already guess that I did not like the “fake” noodles.  You would be correct.  Although I was able to look past the noodles’ pre-rinsed rotten fish smell, I was not able to look past their extremely odd texture.  I’m not sure how to be nice about this, so I’m just going to say it… I HATED these noodles.  The best way I can describe the texture is:  rubbery and slippery.  Like, when I went to chew them, they broke up and scattered all over my mouth… and I couldn’t chew them further because they just slipped and slimed around in my teeth.  Wow, that is a really disgusting description, sorry!  I couldn’t eat them.  I picked out most of the veggies and had to throw the noodles out.  It was pretty sad.       

Then I heated up the last of my sweet potato gnocchi and called it dinner. 

That’s all for tonight…. Biggest Loser is on!

 

5 Responses to “Picture overload and Shirataki noodles”

  1. mom Says:

    Ok, send me that peanut butter, I loooove it..a little too much! And, you know how I feel about the fruit bars..just bought 3 boxes myself. Really..gummy vitamins??? ha

  2. mrssturgis Says:

    Ahh! I’ve had a package of shirataki noodles in my fridge forever. I’m scared of them and now I’m TOTALLY scared of them! The picture of your meal looks delicious though.

    • amsterwill83 Says:

      Eeek, I’m sorry!! I’ve heard a lot of people rave about them, so maybe you will like them! Maybe I should have boiled them first, I don’t know… I did microwave them for 1 minute like the package said, though… good luck!

  3. fitandfortysomething Says:

    oh that luna cookie dough bar looks amazing! never tried it!

  4. Carrie Says:

    Hey – Sorry I have been MIA. I have been sick for 2 days and on my birthday no less. Yuck! We tried the noodles and hated them too. I am a big texture person and that is what got me. I will be sticking to Smart Taste is the purple box from now on.


Leave a Reply

