WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Pillows May 16, 2010

Filed under: Pasta,Potato — WannaBe Chef @ 7:50 pm

Today I decided to make something I’ve never made before… gnocchi!  I’ve never made it, or even eaten it, but I’ve always wanted to try it.  I mean, come on, cooked potato dough covered in sauce??  Yes, please.  So, after seeing it on a few blogs, I was convinced I needed to try it.  If you make this, I would recommend doing it on a weekend, because the process is a little involved and time-consuming!

*****

For the gnocchi, I used Beth’s recipe as my outline of sorts.  After reading her post for tips and ideas, I decided to use two medium sweet potatoes, one medium white potato, and a mixture of whole wheat and white flour (1 cup of each flour).  I also used a sprinkle of cinnamon instead of the pumpkin pie spice.  I wanted to take pictures of each step in the process, but yeah, my dough-covered hands would not permit that.  Here are my potatoes, all mashed up.   

And then we skip to the fruits of my labor… a whole pan of little gnocchi… 178 to be exact!  Yes, I counted them!  Call me psychotic if you must. 

This is why I do NOT like working with flour…

Here they are right after cooking in the boiling water.  I cooked mine in three batches because I was scared they would all stick together.  I also froze about 1/4 of the pan (of the raw gnocchi) for another time. 

And here they are, all dressed and ready to eat!  I made a garlic sauce that I found HERE and just tossed the cooked gnocchi in the sauce.  I also put a little parm on top.  The sauce was CRAZY good!   

I would say these little babies turned out pretty well, seeing as I had nothing to compare them to!  They were like doughy little pillows with a hint of sweetness from the sweet potato and cinnamon.  I thought the savory, almost alfredo-like sauce paired well with them.  Wayne didn’t really like them 😦 but of course he ate his portion anyway.  He wasn’t a fan of the texture.  I liked them a lot, but it’s something I probably wouldn’t make very often because it’s so tedious and messy.   

*****

That’s all for now…. gotta focus my attention on the Survivor finale and then try to watch the Desperate Housewives finale simultaneously!

 

2 Responses to “Pillows”

  1. Beth Says:

    Oohh I’m so glad you made them and did 1 white potato and half and half with the flour. They look great! But I agree, pretty tedious and quite messy, but its kind of fun to get messy sometimes! 🙂

  2. fitandfortysomething Says:

    oh yum! i am afraid i would eat the whole batch in one sitting…..seriously doughy pillows of dough? count me in!


Leave a Reply

