WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Homemade Hamburger Helper May 12, 2010

Filed under: Pasta,Turkey — WannaBe Chef @ 6:34 pm

Did you eat Hamburger Helper as a kid?  I did… with veggies on the side, of course!  😉  I remember helping my mom make it, and I was always so impatient waiting for the “sauce to reduce.”  It seemed like an eternity!  Anyway, I rarely buy the stuff nowadays, but when I came across this recipe on Annie’s Eats, I just had to make it.  (Even though it’s yet another Mexican-inspired dinner!!)  I also made Annie’s homemade taco seasoning, which is something I’ve been meaning to do since it’s soooo much better for you than the packaged stuff.  This was really, really good.  Like so good, I wanted to eat the whole pan (by the way, this recipe makes a TON of food).  And I’m excited to use my new taco seasoning for other things!   

Creamy Taco Mac
Slightly modified from Annie’s Eats – detailed recipe in link above! 

INGREDIENTS:
1 pound lean ground turkey
8 oz. dry pasta
1 small onion, chopped (I didn’t have any onion! boo)
1 clove garlic, minced
1 can (14 oz) diced tomatoes
4 Tbsp taco seasoning (recipe in link above or use packaged mix)
3 oz. light cream cheese
1/2 cup light sour cream
salt and pepper
shredded cheddar cheese for topping (optional) (I did not use)

INSTRUCTIONS:
-Cook the pasta, reserving 1/2 cup pasta water
-Saute the turkey, onion and garlic in a large skillet
-Stir in the tomatoes and taco seasoning, simmer for 5 minutes
-Stir in the cream cheese, sour cream, pasta and pasta water
-Season with salt and pepper, simmer for 3-5 minutes to reduce the sauce (HA)
-Top with cheddar if desired

 

6 Responses to “Homemade Hamburger Helper”

  1. Carrie Says:

    I have been wanting to make this and the taco seasoning. Might be on the menu for next week.

  2. Carrie Says:

    No, I have not made the fries yet either. Just too many good recipes right now to try. I think I am going to have to start a list.

  3. fitandfortysomething Says:

    this looks good girl!

  4. thehealthyjunky Says:

    This looks great!

  5. […] finally, that was my boring lunch yesterday – leftover Taco Mac and a side salad of romaine, cukes, grape tomatoes, parm, pizza hummus and balsamic vinegar (no […]


Leave a Reply

