WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Pizza, Pizza! May 11, 2010

Filed under: Breakfast,Pizza,Smoothies — WannaBe Chef @ 6:03 pm

First up, I would like to share some gorgeous smoothies I made last night… check out the color on these things!

Here’s mine, the Barbie version:  1 1/3 cups frozen strawberries, juice from 1/2 of a huge lime, 2 Tbsp sweetened coconut, 1/3 scoop vanilla protein powder, Splenda, and water… topped with a little more coconut.  This made a HUGE amount (and there was more left in the blender!)  The whole batch comes in at only 207 calories!! 

Here’s Wayne’s, the Barney version:  I didn’t measure anything, but it contained frozen blackberries, frozen strawberries, frozen bananas, skim milk, vanilla protein powder and powdered sugar…. topped with some whipped cream. 

*****

Breakfast this morning was inspired by something I saw on a food show last night… Peanut Butter French Toast.  Once I saw this, I couldn’t get it out of my head.  The description from the Highland Bakery Menu says: “Challah bread filled with peanut butter, dipped in batter, encrusted with bran flakes, and topped with caramelized bananas.”  I found a picture of the beast HERE (note the site that it’s on!).  So this morning, I was off to create a slightly healthier version.   

I started with one slice of whole wheat bread and soaked it in a mixture of 1 egg, a splash of skim milk, cinnamon and vanilla.  I cooked it in a hot skillet then topped it with 1 Tbsp Naturally More PB, a squirt of light syrup, and a sliced banana on the side.  (I also scrambled the remainder of the egg mixture and put that on top.)  THIS WAS SO GOOD, OMGGGG.  Must make this more often. 

*****

Lunch was of the snack plate variety.  I forgot to get any salad or spinach this week at the store (the horror!!), so I’ve been at a loss for lunch ideas.  Here’s what I came up with…

From the top:  Baby dills, whole wheat pita chips, turkey with honey mustard, red peppers, carrots, grape tomatoes, and Tribe PIZZA hummus!  (which I see isn’t even on their website yet…) 

*****

Dinner was a Flat-Out pizza, corn on the cob, and roasted broccoli.  My pizza had pizza hummus as the sauce, turkey pepperoni, sauteed mushrooms, pizza seasoning, and mozzarella.  The broccoli was roasted, straight from the freezer, with salt, pepper and garlic powder, and the corn was simply boiled.  YUH-UM!  I liked how the Flat-Out actually got crispy and wasn’t all limp.  It’s hard to believe this entire meal (including the other 2 slices of pizza!) had less calories than my breakfast!! 

 

 

One Response to “Pizza, Pizza!”

  1. fitandfortysomething Says:

    those are gorgeous smoothies!


Leave a Reply

