WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

More Mexican May 10, 2010

Filed under: Chicken,Life,One dish meal — WannaBe Chef @ 6:50 pm

Today was another uneventful one.  I did manage to get my plane ticket in August changed so I could go to both my sister’s wedding shower and bachelor/bachelorette party.  This does not seem like a big deal to most, but to someone who has flown probably less than 10 times in her life (and never alone!)… it can be a little intimidating.  I tell ya what, though, between all of Wayne’s travelling for work and all my trips back home for Erin’s wedding, I might just become a flying expert.  Anyway!  I also got a little something in the mail today…

An off-centered mug shot on a new license I never wanted!  Woot!  I totally planned on keeping my MI license for the duration of time we’re here…. however, our car insurance company requires a valid MN license.  Damn.  Another little piece of my denial about being here has been taken away!  Fail.  And can I also ask… why the heck does this thing feel like nothing more than a slippery piece of cardstock??  Dang, I think I could rip it in half with one swift breath! 

*****

Again, I digress.  Let’s get on with dinner.  Somehow, Mexican-inspired dinners have appeared on our table quite a few times lately, which seems to be fine with me.  These “burritoes” are one of my favorite quick meals to throw together.  My good friend and used-to-be-coworker Erin originally introduced me to this method long ago.  Remember these burritoes from this really old post??  Yeah, that was before I figured out to make the pics big!  So yeah, basically you saute whatever veggies sound good, throw in some beans, rice, cheese, whatever you have lying around, top with a little canned enchilada sauce, and call it a burrito!  

This burrito was filled with:  sauteed onion/red peppers/black beans, chicken, avocado, grape tomatoes, and cheese… all topped with enchilada sauce, Frank’s and a dollop of light sour cream.  So.very.delicious.

 

3 Responses to “More Mexican”

  1. fitandfortysomething Says:

    glad you were able to change your flight plans and what a great dinner!

  2. Beth Says:

    mmmmm i love burritos!!

  3. […] 2.  Here, I poured extra enchilada sauce into an ice cube tray, froze it, and popped them into a freezer bag.  Now I don’t have to open a new can next time I want a random burrito!  […]


Leave a Reply

