WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Mommy’s Day May 9, 2010

Filed under: Sweets,Turkey — WannaBe Chef @ 7:58 pm

First things first, HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY, MOMMY!!!  I wish I could have been home with my mommy today, but I will be flying back a lot for my sister’s wedding pretty soon.  You’re the best, mom, and I’ll see you soon!  🙂

*****

On with the food.  I whipped up some Mama Pea’s Chocolate PB Protein Cookies.  Scroll down further into her post for the recipe.  I used regular skim milk, 3 scoops protein powder instead of 4, and a little more than 4 packets of sweetener.  Mine were quite “wet,” and I should have used less milk, but they held together just fine.  These were definitely not your “normal” cookie, and I thought they still weren’t quite sweet enough for me!  They were pretty good with a slathering of PB on top, though!

I tried another new (to me) flavor of Chobani… peach!  I’m usually not a peach fan, but this was really good!  I added a wee bit of granola on top for the perfect snack. 

For dinner tonight, I made Jessie’s Southwestern Shepherd’s Pie.  I made a few changes based on what I had, so below is my version. 

INGREDIENTS: 
1 medium onion, chopped
1/2 large red bell pepper, chopped
large forkful of jarred, minced garlic
1 lb. lean ground turkey
1 Tbsp tomato paste
1 Tbsp chili powder
1 tsp cumin
pinch of cinnamon
salt and pepper
a little less than 1 pint of grape tomatoes, halved
1/2 cup corn
1/2 cup black beans
1/3 – 1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese
1.5 lbs potatoes, mix of white and sweet (approx 1 large white potato and 1 large sweet potato)
splash of vegetable broth or milk

Basically – cook and mash the potatoes, season with salt and pepper, and thin with a little broth or milk.  Saute/combine your veggies, meat, and seasonings in a large skillet.  Layer the meat mixture on the bottom of a baking dish that’s been coated in cooking spray.  Top with cheese then spread mashed potatoes on top.  Bake at 400 for 20-30 minutes.  Voila!  Of course, check out Jessie’s page for a more detailed recipe 🙂 

 

3 Responses to “Mommy’s Day”

  1. fitandfortysomething Says:

    oh those cookies look so good!

  2. mom Says:

    Thanks for the Mother’s Day wishes! I miss both my girls! The shepherd’s pie looks soooo good. I’d try making it, but that would require being in the kitchen!

  3. […] to freeze leftover food when I make large amounts of it.  This is individually wrapped portions of Southwest Shepherd’s Pie.  These pieces reheat very well and are perfect for those days when the grocery supply is low.  I […]


Leave a Reply

