WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

The smoothie bandwagon May 7, 2010

Filed under: Fruit,Smoothies — WannaBe Chef @ 4:15 pm

I am not a fan of drinking calories.  I would much rather eat, any day.  However, after all this blog reading, I have to say… I may be a partial convert… in the form of smoothies, that is.  Yes, smoothies can be very high in calories, but they don’t have to be!  And unlike a venti white chocolate mocha double shot latte frappucino, a smoothie can be chocked full of healthy, nutrient dense ingredients.  I’ve been experimenting with different combinations, and while I don’t have the coveted, multi-hundred-dollar Vita-Mix, my creations have been coming out pretty good.  I started small with the pre-packaged, frozen Yoplait Smoothie mixes, which I highly recommend.  Wayne begs for one every night, and we both like the Triple Berry flavor the best.  (I am not being paid by Yoplait for my kind words, just FYI!) 

*****

My next smoothie attempt, which I’ve blogged about before (here and here), was based on the chocolate cherry bomb from Kristen’s Raw.  I have truly become addicted to these and many of them have gone unblogged as to not bore you with repetition. 

My version is not exactly like Kristen’s but usually contains: 
*1/2 – 1 cup frozen cherries
*1 Tbsp dark cocoa powder
*4-6 frozen banana slices
*1/2 scoop vanilla protein powder
*1/2 tsp maca powder
*enough water to get it blended 

Today I added in a handful of spinach.  I really enjoy the bitterness of the cocoa with the sweetness and tart of the cherries.  This snack-sized serving contains only 139 calories and helps this veggie girl get in some fruit!     

This one was a little high on the cocoa to cherry ratio!

Last night, I decided to branch out and try a new concoction.  I saved this post from Pimp My Protein Shake and had all the ingredients, so I gave it a go.  Welcome my new favorite… the strawberry lime coconut smoothie!  Wow, was this good!!  It was sweet and tart, kind of tropical, and I even liked the chew of the coconut that didn’t get entirely blended. 

In my smoothie: 
*1 cup frozen strawberries
*2 Tbsp sweetened coconut
*juice from 1 lime
*1/2 scoop vanilla protein powder
*Splenda (yes, Splenda, it’ll be OK…)
*
enough water to get it blended

This smoothie has about 170 calories.  As soon as I get more strawberries and limes, I’m making more of these!!   

More smoothies to come, I’m sure!  Happy weekend, everyone 🙂

 

One Response to “The smoothie bandwagon”

  1. Ashley Says:

    Ooooh the strawberry lime sounds delicious! I need a blender, pronto!


Leave a Reply

