WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Been meaning to… May 5, 2010

Filed under: Breakfast,Meatless,Products,Salad,Vegetable — WannaBe Chef @ 7:23 pm

Howdy bloggers, blogettes, and er’one else.  Today was another food-filled day.  Let’s giddy-up, shall we? 

Breakfast was something different.  I got some Flat-Out wraps, which I’ve been meaning to try, and decided on a breakfast wrap this morning.  Inside the wrap is 1 whole egg + 1/4 cup egg whites sauteed with spinach, 1/4 cup refried beans, 1/2 slice American cheese, and Frank’s.  This was really tasty and kept me full for a long time.   

Lunch was a big ole garbage salad.  On zee plate is romaine, baby spinach, fat-free feta (the last of it, thank goodness!), 1/2 of an on-the-vine tomato, 1/2 an avocado with Frank’s, 1 carrot, 2 Tbsp delicious hummus, 2 sweet peppers, all dressed in balsamic vinegar.  Yuh-um. 

Snack time was a wonderous new find at the store… Raspberry Chobani!  I’ve never had this flavor before… it was soooo good.  Favorite flavor so far.  I didn’t even have to put anything crunchy in it to combat the “gag texture!”  I also found the pomegranate flavor that I’ll probably eat tomorrow 🙂

Dinner was something else that I’ve been meaning to try for a long time now… artichokes!  I’ve never had a “real” artichoke before and haven’t even had the canned artichoke hearts outside of spinach dip.  Something about dipping the cute little leaves into a yummy dipping sauce has always intrigued me.  Since Wayne is gone, I figured this was a good time to experiment.  Of course I did my research before trying to attack these monsters.  I took bits and pieces of the recipes HERE and HERE, along with some how-to videos on You Tube, and came up with these babies. 

I prepped, then simmered them in about 2 inches of water, covered, for about 30 minutes until tender.  I let them cool a little bit then ate them with my dipping sauce.  I just threw the sauce together based on the ingredients from the two recipes above.  Mine contained light mayo, Worchestershire, lemon juice, dijon mustard and Frank’s.  It was tart and yummy.

That is the creepy, furry, pokey thing that’s above the heart.  Yeah, you definitely don’t want to eat that!  Or try to get it off with your fingers… use a spoon!

And that would be the delectable artichoke heart.  It takes a lot of work to get to it, but it’s worth it!  Yummy.  As fun as these were, they kept me full for about 30 minutes.  More food was had, and I will continue to snack I’m sure.   

The aftermath. Ain't it pretty?

On another note, I just wanted to mention that today would have been my dad’s 55th birthday, and he was born 5-5-55.  Pretty crazy, right?  Happy Birthday, Dad, I miss you!

Alright lads, that’s all for today!  I’m off to get a snack and watch Julie and Julia!

 

5 Responses to “Been meaning to…”

  1. Ashley Says:

    Awww I always remember your dad’s birthday because of the date (and because it’s so close to mine). Happy birthday Chuck : )

  2. Carrie Says:

    Rachel Ray added some Frank’s to her dish today and I thought of you 🙂

    Hope you are having a good day!

  3. fitandfortysomething Says:

    oh i love your breakfast burrito! yum…….

  4. Rebecca Says:

    Houston’s restaurant has THE BEST artichokes in the world. Kind of similar to what you already did, but also grilled. Seriously, I live for them.

    http://lawhininganddining.typepad.com/whining_and_dining_in_la/2008/03/grilled-articho.html

    xoxo


Leave a Reply

