WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Business trippin’ May 3, 2010

Filed under: Breakfast,Chicken,Life,Meatless,Oatmeal,Potato,Ziggy — WannaBe Chef @ 6:07 pm

So, I’ve been up since 4 AM… unless you count all the half-hour increments from 1:30 till 4, that is.  I had to take Wayne to the airport for a 7 AM flight to FL for work stuff.  This won’t be the first business trip, so I guess I have get used to the stressful drive there and back!  In fact, there are already two more trips scheduled for June.  Anyone have a xanax or two?  I made it back here by 6 AM and didn’t really wanna go back to bed since I was already dressed and awake.  However, there’s nothing really on TV that early.  Oooor, so I thought!  Look what I found…

I was always so jealous of Topanga's hair...

The good ole TGIF lineup!

By 7:00, I couldn’t wait any longer for breakfast.  I was inspired again by Jessie to make some savory oats.  Some peeps might think savory oats are a bit strange; I was actually one of them until I tried it!  Just think of it as another form of an omelette with toast.  The cheese and salsa are essential in my opinion, otherwise you just have a bland canvas with an egg on top.  I also think the stove top method of cooking is imperative in getting a good creamy texture.   

In the bowl:  1/4 cup old-fashioned oats cooked in 1/2 cup water on the stove top.  At the end, I mixed in 1/3 cup mixed veggies that I thawed in the microwave, 3/4 ounce light cream cheese, 1/8 cup sharp cheddar cheese, and a pinch of salt.  On the top is an over easy egg and lots of salsa!  It was creamy and full of flavor, I promise!  You should try it, for reals.

Poor Ziggy’s sleep schedule was all thrown off by mommy and daddy getting up so early, and he ended up zonked out on his scratch pad (he doesn’t have claws anymore… ha) while I enjoyed my oatmeal.  Isn’t he the cutest little kitty you’ve ever seen??

Shortly after breakfast, I headed out to Joann Fabrics to get supplies to make my sister’s wedding card box.  Well, after an hour of wandering in circles and having a mild anxiety attack, I didn’t get any fabric.  Even though I had a “plan” sketched out, a sample of some lace I wanted to use, and the lid to one of the boxes, I could NOT for the life of me decide what I wanted.  I guess I’ll try again tomorrow.  I got back and before I knew it, it was lunch time.  The leftovers of the Chicken Lettuce Wraps from last night were screaming at me, so that’s what I had.  It was just as good as the first time!  On the side I had two sweet peppers.  I love that this whole freaking plate of food is only around 150 calories! 

A little while later, I had some baked tofu.  All I did was marinate the extra firm tofu in some teriyaki for a few minutes and bake at 375 until browned, flipping once.  I don’t really like warm tofu, so I chilled it and ate it cold.  For any tofu virgins out there, I will say it takes some getting used to.  I liken the texture to the white of a hard-boiled egg.  This was pretty good, but I still think I prefer it cold and plain!

After an impromptu nap, a shower, more card-box-comtemplating, and some Oprah, I was ready for dinner.  The one good thing about Wayne being gone is that I can eat whatever the heck I want for dinner!  I have  some nice meatless dinners planned for this week.  I would be perfectly content eating meat just a couple times a week, but that wouldn’t really fly with hubby.  Anyway… tonight’s dinner was OH SO EASY AND QUICK and really hit the spot.  I know I’ve been saying that about every dinner lately, but really, this was absolutely delicious.  And knowing how healthy it is doesn’t hurt either! 

Baked Sweet Potatoes with Black Beans
Modified from recipe HERE (scroll down till you find it)

BAKE 3-4 sweet potatoes according to desired method.  I poked mine all over, wrapped in foil, and baked at 350 for about 1 hour and 15 minutes.

COMBINE 1 can black beans (drained and rinsed), 1 chopped medium-sized tomato, cumin, garlic powder, salt and pepper in a medium bowl.  MICROWAVE for about 2 minutes or until heated through. 

SPLIT open your potato and top with 1/2 cup of the black bean mixture, 1 Tbsp lite sour cream, and chopped cilantro.  I also added some salsa after the photo sesh. 

The rest of the night looks like this:  Dishes, Dancing with the Stars, Chocolate Cherry Bomb shake, maybe some envelope addressing, and SLEEP!  Toodles for now.

 

2 Responses to “Business trippin’”

  1. oh your savory oats look so good! i think i would want them for dinner though 🙂 have a good day and thank you for finding my blog!

  2. I have a kitty who looks just like yours!! 🙂

    I watch “Sabrina” every morning when I’m eating breakfast, lol. Sometimes I switch to “Saved By the Bell”!!


Leave a Reply

