WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Bits and Pieces May 1, 2010

Filed under: Breakfast,Life,Oatmeal,Sweets — WannaBe Chef @ 4:39 pm

Today I have some randomness for you… so let’s get started.  The past two mornings have provided opportunities for OIAJ (oats in a jar).  Wanna see?

Oat bran + water + AB left in the jar + chia seeds + raspbizzles

Oat bran + water + vanilla protein powder + PB left in the jar + chia seeds + raspbeezies

The other night, I needed wanted some dessert.  I saw these beauties over on Meant 2B Together, and Carrie ever-so-kindly posted the recipe since I couldn’t find it online.  It’s from the famous Hungry Girl‘s cookbook, which I really need to buy.  Click on Carrie’s link for the recipe.  I made some changes to mine… I used a mix of cream cheese and Greek yogurt for the filling since I didn’t have any ricotta.  I have to say, this is a genius recipe and a great way to use up those extra hot dog buns you might have laying around!   

In other exciting news, I received the prizes I won in two bloggie giveaways!!  First up is the Nature’s Path package I won from Heather @ Hangry Pants.  I ripped into one of the granola bars right away, and OH.MY.GOODNESS. it was so good!!!  Maple and pecan are two of my favorite flavors, so it was definitely a sweet/salty match made in heaven.  Thanks again, Heather!!  🙂

Next up is the Furochic – re-usable fabric gift wrap – that I won from Danica @ Danica’s Daily.  How cool is this!?  I watched the video on the website, and there are sooo many neat ways to tie/wrap this.  The hardest part is gonna be deciding what to wrap in it and who to give it to!  Thanks again, Danica!!  🙂   

Last, but certainly not least, is reason 8,324,894,833,908 why I heart my mommy.  You see, I sent her a big ole box of goodies for Mother’s Day (yeah, so it got there a week early…), including one of my cute, new baby spoons and a jar of cranberry vanilla PB (!!!) from Target.  My mom has been known to snicker a little bit whenever I photograph my food, AND she has been known to laugh at my new slight obsession with baby silverware, dishes and random straws.  So, I was a little surprised to find the picture you see below in my text inbox this morning!!  You should note the use of the mini spoon, pool of PB under the dried blueberries and pecans, and the taking of the photo in natural light!!  I guess I taught her well!  😀

 

3 Responses to “Bits and Pieces”

  1. Carrie Says:

    I love that you used that recipe as a dessert rather than for breakfast. Jim thought they were too sweet in the morning. I figure anyway to have chocolate in the morning is a great thing 🙂

  2. Ashley Says:

    Yay Terri for taking pictures of your food! I sense a new blog in the works… : )

  3. Terri Says:

    Seriously Ashley…are ya nuts?!


Leave a Reply

