WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Life changing April 29, 2010

Filed under: Favorites,Vegetable — WannaBe Chef @ 6:12 pm

I’m talking about fries, folks.  Not your regular, deep-fried potato fries, though.  I’m talking about parsnip fries.  Have you ever had parsnips?  I hadn’t until I made these.  When Angela, over on Oh She Glows, said “These fries will change your life,”  I knew I had to try them.  I’ll be the first to admit, I was like… parsnips…?  coated in nut butter????  Hmm, was I really going to be this adventurous?  Yes, yes I was… and it was well beyond worth it!

Nut Butter Crusted Parsnip Fries
Recipe found at Oh She Glows… click link for original recipe source and Angela’s awesome pictures and step by step instructions!

INGREDIENTS:
3 medium parsnips (or 2 medium sweet potatoes) peeled and cut into thin, fry shapes
1 Tbsp almond butter (I used TJs raw, crunchy unsalted)
2 Tbsp chunky peanut butter (I used Naturally More, naturally! 😉 )
1 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil
1/2 tsp salt

INSTRUCTIONS:
– Mix the nut butters, olive oil and salt in a medium bowl
– Add the fries and toss with your hands to coat evenly
– Line fries up on a parchment paper lined baking sheet (I used foil coated in cooking spray)
– Bake at 400 for 30-50 minutes until crisp.  I let mine go just shy of 30 minutes, then flipped them because they were getting a little dark on the bottom.  Then I moved them to the top shelf (while my salmon cooked) for another 10 minutes or so. 

The first word that came to mind when I ate these was rich.  I mean, that makes sense, right?  Peanut butter is a rich food.  However, while being rich and savory, though, there was still a very slight sweetness and beautiful texture from the parsnip.  And the crunch factor from the coating was simply amaaaazing.  The nut butter got all crumbly and crispy and roasty.  I really can’t say enough about these fries.  Like Angela said in her post, I never in my life would have imagined using nut butter on fries!!  Whoever came up with this one deserves an award or something.  Ok, I will stop gushing now so you can go make these!  
   

 

One Response to “Life changing”

  1. Carrie Says:

    I am working from home for the next week, so this will defiantly be on the menu.


Leave a Reply

