WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

The sigh factor April 28, 2010

Filed under: Beef,Beverage,Fruit,Products,Sweets — WannaBe Chef @ 6:41 pm

I decided to skip breakfast and lunch today… well, skip taking pics, not skip eating.  Both meals were pretty boring and leftover-ish, so I figured I would spare you.  Instead, I thought I’d share some snacks, like this delicious bowl of raspberries and lite Cool Whip…

and this skim Chai tea latte from the coffee shop down the street.

And I also thought I’d share an odd story.  So a few weeks ago, after seeing these stupid candies on some Food Network show, I decided to order some on a whim (or perhaps out of boredom?).  Well, after two tries with two different credit cards, the stupid website kept giving me errors and I gave up.  I never got any emails confirming my purchase, and my bank accounts were not charged, so I figured that was that.  Well, to my surprise, I received a package today and it contained the Sinfully Delicious candies.  Hmmm.  Well… I didn’t really want them anymore, and then when I opened the box, I discovered I had been shorted by two “sampler” boxes and one of the boxes I did get looked like it had been around the block a few times.  Grrreat.  And did I get charged twice??  Uggh.  So I called the place, and the lady was nice, so I didn’t demand a refund.  I will be getting my “replacements” shipped out soon.  Woot woot… yeah, I’m a doormat. 

I don’t know what I was thinking… believing that a tablet of compressed, artificially colored powder would taste like a 500 calorie dessert… yeahhhh… they are not very good.  Despite the wide array of “flavors,” they all have a similar chemical, plastic, fake taste going on…

The adorable packaging sucked me in, damnit!

This was the most appetizing part, though… thanks Mr. Mannitol!

Let’s get on with dinner, shall we?  Tonight, I made something I rarely make… a big ole hunk of meat.  Cooking steaks, roasts, chops, etc etc has always been intimidating to me… not to mention trying to pick it out at the store (can you say deer-in-the-headlights?).  It always ends up tough, dry, and/or flavorless.  It’s not like chicken where you can just cook it to death and then douse it in BBQ sauce.  You actually have to pay attention and hope you catch it somewhere between rare and shoe leather.  So anyway, I saw this very simple recipe in my latest Cooking Light and thought I’d give it a whirl.

Grilled Balsamic Skirt Steak
modified from Cooking Light May 2010 issue, pg 108

INGREDIENTS:
1/4 cup balsamic vinegar
1 Tbsp Worchestershire sauce (didn’t have any, I used teriyaki instead)
2 tsp brown sugar
1 garlic clove, minced
1 pound skirt steak, trimmed and cut into four pieces (I used 3/4 lb of flank steak instead)
salt and pepper

INSTRUCTIONS:
– Place first four ingredients into a large ziplock bag.  Add steak, turn to coat.  Marinate at room temp for 25 minutes, turning once.  Remove steak and place on a baking sheet lined with a rack.  Season steaks with salt and pepper.  Discard the marinade.  I let my steaks marinate for about an hour and 15 minutes since I was using flank steak, which is a little tougher than skirt steak.
– Broil steak (or use grill pan) on each side until desired degree of doneness is reached.
– Remove steak from oven and put on a plate, cover tightly with foil and let rest for 5 minutes (essential step here, otherwise the juices will run out of the meat). 
– Cut steak diagonally, against the grain in thin slices.  Serve immediately.

Served with spuds/onions and green beans/feta.

I undercooked the steak, thinking that it would cook a little more as it rested under the foil.  Well, it was still a touch too rare after I cut it, so I zapped it in the microwave for about 1 minute and it came out perfect.  I was expecting the worst when I took my first bite, but instead I was greeted with one of the most tender and flavorful pieces of beef I’ve ever tasted!!  It was so good, I never wanted it to end… so good that I closed my eyes and let out a long *sigh* with each bite!

 

3 Responses to “The sigh factor”

  1. mom Says:

    LOL, wow..not sure that I’ve ever heard you talk about beef like that, “I never wanted it to end”??? really???

  2. Wow…I’m never going to try those candies!

    I’ve found that marinating any meat overnight really enhances the flavor and keeps it tender:)


Leave a Reply

