WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Veggie Quota April 27, 2010

Filed under: Beef,Breakfast,Salad,Vegetable — WannaBe Chef @ 7:21 pm

Are you a fruit or veggie person?  I’m definitely more a veggie person.  Don’t get my wrong, I love my honeycrisp apples, fresh berries, and pineapple… but you’ll find me eating veggies way more often.  A day rarely passes without some sort of veg crossing my lips, while sometimes I stop and think “when’s the last time I had any fruit??”  As you may have noticed, my fruit consumption usually happens at breakfast and that’s about it.  Today I went the egg/veg route, though, and continued the rest of the day with a lotttt of roughage.   

Breakfast:  1/2 cup Egg Whites w/Spinach, fat-free Feta, and Salsa;  English Muffin w/ Margarine on the side.  For some reason, this didn’t really sit well and I didn’t even finish the eggs.  Sometimes, eggs have a nauseating effect on me… today was one of those mornings.  Shoulda had oat bran!   

Lunch:  Ok, so this salad was a strange combination… Romaine, Spinach, Pickles, Tomatoes, Carrots, Raspberries (fruit sighting!), Parmesan, and Lite Raspberry Vinaigrette.  On the side is leftover Teriyaki Sloppy Joes.  The joes were fantastic and the salad was just OK.  The weirdness came from the parm combined with everything, not the pickles and raspberries like I thought it would be! 

Needless to say, I was starving come afternoon.  Snackage:  Carrots with Almond Butter (awesome combination, btw!), Plain Extra Firm Tofu (not cheese!), and a rare Diet Coke. 

Dinner:  Big ole bed of spaghetti squash (cooked according to wonderful instructions over on Escape from Obesity), a teeeeny 1 oz of wheat pasta, spaghetti sauce, sauteed lean beef + rando veggies, and parm.  Wow, this was really filling and tasty.  I’ve never cooked a spaghetti squash before, and I must say it was super easy and yummy.  I’ll be eating the leftovers for the next 3 days, I’m sure.   

So, are you a fruit or veggie person?  Or both?  Maybe I’ll have some fruit for my snack later, cuz I’m definitely veggied out for the day!

 

2 Responses to “Veggie Quota”

  1. Ashley Says:

    Definitely a fruit girl. I think it’s because of my insatiable sweet tooth! I could eat pineapple all day, every day, until my mouth burns from the acid. Plus, tomatoes are a fruit, and they’re like my #1 favorite thing in the world. I snack on grape tomatoes like they’re candy 🙂

  2. Rebecca Says:

    Fruit! You know how I love my mangoes 😉


Leave a Reply

