WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

The mantel April 26, 2010

Filed under: Beef,Breakfast,Meatless,Oatmeal,One dish meal,Products,Salad,Sandwiches,Soup — WannaBe Chef @ 7:25 pm

I don’t really have a theme for today’s post (Do I ever?).  Sometimes I wonder how other bloggies come up with such creative stories and themes to show what they’re eating, when I feel like my posts are just strings of pictures.  Anyway, I did notice a slight theme with today’s pics: most of them were taken on my mantel – a spot located at the perfect height and conveniently positioned right in front of a window. 

Breakfast was an old friend that I’ve welcomed back with open arms – oat bran!  It’s usually not my fave because of what I call the “gag texture” (aka it’s so smooth and thick, it makes me wanna gag… other culprits are pudding, yogurt, bananas…).  However, I found myself craving it over the weekend, and making it on the stove top instead of the microwave makes a WORLD of difference.

In the bowl:  1/3 cup oat bran cooked in 2/3 cup water, spoonful of chia seeds and 1/2 scoop vanilla protein powder stirred in at the end, topped with 1 Tbsp AB and raspberries.  Don’t you love my adorable bowl (hand thrown from Becker’s, remember Mom?) and baby spoon?? 

This might be one of my favorite pics!

I can usually get over the “gag texture” by simply adding something else with an opposite texture…. enter, probably my new favorite nut butter… Naturally More ALMOND!!!  Shockingly, I discovered another place that sells Naturally More beside Walmart… and they also had the almond… which I’ve never seen anywhere.  OMG, it’s SOOOO good.  It’s very crunchy with whole flax seeds and almond bits, very thick, and had no oil separation.  Paired with the creamy oat bran and tart raspberries?  New fave breakfast. 

Lunch was leftover potato leek soup (which, I must say, DID taste better cold!) topped with sour cream and Frank’s alongside a BAGEL thin (!!) with hummus, lettuce and tomato. 

Wanna see my latest online fun purchase?  Reusable straws!  I looove straws and figured I should stop throwing so many away.  Plus, these are so cute and fun.  I can’t wait to use them for smoothies.  I have them in blue, pink, orange, and green 🙂

Dinner was yet another Rachael recipe.  I know, I know, I need to dust off my other cookbooks or something.  These sloppy joes were a really nice twist on the classic.  I thoroughly enjoyed them 🙂 

Teriyaki Sloppy Joes
Modified from Everyday with Rachael Ray, May 2010 issue, pg 117

INGREDIENTS:
Olive oil for sauteeing
1 bunch green onions, chopped
1 carrot, shredded
2-3 cloves garlic, minced
(I also added half a zucchini, finely chopped)
1 pound ground pork (I used lean ground beef)
1/4 cup teriyaki sauce
2 Tbsp oyster sauce (couldn’t find any – I used 1 Tbsp hoisin sauce instead)
1 Tbsp cornstarch
1 pound swiss chard, thinly sliced (I omitted)
4 burger buns

INSTRUCTIONS:
– Saute onions, garlic, carrot, zucchini in a little oil until soft
– Add meat into center of pan, break up and cook through
– In a small bowl, whisk together the teriyaki sauce, oyster sauce, cornstarch and 1/2 cup water
– Pour teriyaki mixture into skillet and cook, stirring, until thickened – about 1-2 minutes
– Recipe then includes sauteed swiss chard which goes on the sandwiches, I just served them plain since the greens I bought were MOLDY on the inside!!

I had my sammie with a side salad containing romaine, tomatoes, pickles, fat free feta, and some new-to-me Annie’s dressing.  Mmmm, the dressing was delicious and a perfect compliment to the joes! 

Do you like buying fun dishes or silverware to spice up your eats?  I’ve recently found a new hobby doing just that.

 

One Response to “The mantel”

  1. Ashley Says:

    Bagel thins??? This could be the best creation ever – I big puffy heart bagel sandwiches. Do they have different flavors?

    Ok, those straws are super cute and I’m loving all of your fancy pictures!


Leave a Reply

