WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Yah, mon April 23, 2010

Filed under: Chicken — WannaBe Chef @ 5:33 pm

Please indulge me one more time in re-living the past.  This week, last year, Wayne and I were on our honeymoon in Montego Bay, Jamaica.  Needless to say, it was an ahh-mazing, relaxing, sunny, food-and-drink-filled week of fun. 

I really miss that tan...

In honor of the tremendous amounts of buffets and face-stuffing that went on, I decided to make some Jamaican Jerk Chicken tonight.  I googled my way to this fiery recipe.  There are quite a few ingredients, but luckily I just needed to buy the nutmeg, allspice, and veggies.  I only hope that, now, any future blender-concoctions don’t come out tasting like habaneros and spices…

Doesn’t that look good?  Well, looks can be deceiving.  I’m gonna be honest and say I was quite disappointed with this chicken.  I made a few changes to the recipe and broiled it instead of grilling it (thanks to the “no grill ordinance” here in the beautiful state of MN), but I don’t think those changes would have messed it up much.  I mean, it was edible, but all I could taste was the lime juice and black pepper.  All the other lovely spices were barely detectable, and I think marinating it overnight (after reading the review about marinating “the longer, the better”) in all that lime juice made it really tough and dry.  Oh well, I guess there’s no substitute for the real thing!

 

Leave a Reply

