WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

I won! April 22, 2010

Filed under: Beverage,Breakfast,Meatless,Products,Salad,Sandwiches,Vegetable — WannaBe Chef @ 6:16 pm

First let me start out by saying that I actually won something today!  With all this time on my hands, I’ve been reading a lotttt of blogs and sometimes entering the contests I find.  Well, it turns out I won one of them today!  Pretty soon, I will be enjoying some Nature’s Path goodies, courtesy of a contest over on Hangry Pants.  I’ve never tried any of their products, but I’m constantly seeing them on blogs, so I’m excited!  🙂

~~~~~

Ok, so let’s get on with today’s eats.  Breakfast was a toasted wheat English muffin topped with Trader Joe’s PB, a perfectly ripe pear, and cinnamon.  This might be my new favorite breakfast.  PB, pears, and cinnamon have always been my favorite oatmeal toppings, and they sure didn’t disappoint on an English muffin either.

~~~~~

Lunch was a salad fit for a first-grader.  It was quite random and contained romaine, spinach, carrots, red onion, cheddar, a lite beef hot dog, and lite ranch.  I was a little skeptical, but it tasted soooo good.  How can you go wrong with hot dogs, cheese, and ranch??  For lunch dessert, I had a chocolate Oikos with a little All-Bran for crunch.  Did you notice my adorable new baby spoon?

~~~~~

After some digesting and soap-watching, I went out for a walk with my iPod.  It was quite nice.  After I got back, I found out I won the bloggie contest (woo!) and then whipped up another Chocolate Cherry Bomb.  This time, I still halved the original recipe but I used only 1/4 of a frozen banana, a little less water, and left out the flax meal and sweetener.  It turned out soooo yummy.  I love the tartness of the cherries with the chocolate.  I think I might be addicted to these. 

~~~~~

Dinner was for one tonight since Wayne had a business dinner.  Sometimes I like cooking for just myself… I can have whatever I want, I often get to use up food that needs to be used up, and I don’t have to hear any whining if there’s no meat involved!  I roasted the last of a bag of baby carrots and some red onion (I’ve been sawing away at the same damn onion since the Chicken Marsala!) with salt, pepper, and garlic powder.  I had them with an Amy’s burger on half a tortilla with Greek Olive hummus, spinach and BBQ.  Looove these burgers. 

 

One Response to “I won!”

  1. […] next smoothie attempt, which I’ve blogged about before (here and here), was based on the chocolate cherry bomb from Kristen’s Raw.  I have truly become addicted […]


Leave a Reply

