WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Blending and Roasting April 20, 2010

Filed under: Beef,Beverage,Breakfast,Potato,Vegetable — WannaBe Chef @ 6:09 pm

After much frustration trying to make smoothies in my mini food processor, I finally bought a blender (with 20% off at Bed, Bath & Beyond, of course!).  I decided to try a liquid breakfast today.  I’ve seen this shake everywhere in blogland and finally got to make one.  I don’t have any hemp protein or seeds, so I made some substitutions.  I also just used regular cocoa powder instead of raw and halved the recipe.   

Chocolate Cherry Bomb Shake
Based on recipe from Kristen’s Raw
The original recipe is on the left, and my version is on right.

1 cup filtered water                                         1/2 cup water
1 frozen banana, chopped                            1/2 banana, chopped (I forgot to freeze it)
1 cup frozen cherries                                      1/2 cup frozen cherries
1/4 cup hemp protein powder                   1/2 scoop vanilla protein powder
2 tablespoons hemp seeds                            1 Tbsp flax meal
2 tablespoons raw chocolate powder    1 Tbsp cocoa powder
splash vanilla extract                                      splash of vanilla extract and sweetener

Blend up all ingredients and enjoy!

MMMMM!  This is the first bloggie shake I’ve actually enjoyed.  Maybe because there’s chocolate in it and no spinach?  Ha.  It was a nice mix of sweet from the chocolate and tart from the cherries.  I’m learning that I don’t exactly love the taste of bananas in smoothies, so next time I might omit it or decrease it.  I’ll definitely be playing with this recipe again!

 

Later in the afternoon, I was dragging and needed some caffeine.  I haven’t been drinking hot coffee in the morning anymore – it just doesn’t taste good lately.  So I decided to give the blender another workout and concoct a cold coffee drink.   

In the blender went:  1 cup leftover room temp or chilled coffee, 1/2 cup vanilla almond milk, 6-7 ice cubes, splash of vanilla extract, and Splenda to taste.  Oooh, how I’m loving my blender.  It totally crushed the ice and got the drink all frothy.  This drink still needs a couple tweeks (like some sugar-free flavored syrup or something), but it was quite refreshing and tasty.  I can totally see adding some yogurt, nut butter, or cocoa powder and making dessert out of this!

Dinner was entirely roasted in the oven.  I’ve said this before, but I can’t stress enough how awesome roasting is.  It really brings out a nutty flavor in otherwise boring veggies and meats, and provides a nice, brown crispiness.  Ever since the baseball game, I have been craving a hot dog.  I didn’t get one at the game because the people didn’t know if they were all beef or not!  (I don’t eat pork.)  So I decided the craving had to be fulfilled, stat! 

On the same foil-lined baking sheet coated in cooking spray, I lined up two potatoes that I cut into french fries and half a bag of FROZEN broccoli florets.  I sprayed i again with cooking spray then seasoned generously with salt, pepper, and garlic powder.  I roasted everything at 400 for about 30 minutes, flipped the potatoes and broccoli, then roasted for another 10-15 minutes.  I may have turned up the heat to 420 at some point due to being impatient.  I put the hot dogs on a separate, foil-lined pan and put them in the oven for the last 10-12 minutes.  I was pleasantly surprised by a carmelized dog, much like you’d get from an outdoor grill…. YUH-UM.  This meal really hit the spot!

Sans bun but with tomatoes, red onion and pickles on the side.

And the best part of roasting?  No clean up!  Just throw the foil away 🙂

 

3 Responses to “Blending and Roasting”

  1. Ashley Says:

    Oooh I’m definitely going to try roasting veggies in the oven… steaming them is getting a little boring!

  2. […] nice.  After I got back, I found out I won the bloggie contest (woo!) and then whipped up another Chocolate Cherry Bomb.  This time, I still halved the original recipe but I used only 1/4 of a frozen banana, a little […]

  3. […] next smoothie attempt, which I’ve blogged about before (here and here), was based on the chocolate cherry bomb from Kristen’s Raw.  I have truly become […]


Leave a Reply

