WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

One year down April 18, 2010

Filed under: Chicken,Favorites,Holiday,Life,Potato,Sweets — WannaBe Chef @ 7:55 pm

Today is our first anniversary!  I can hardly believe it’s been a whole year already… and what a crazy year it’s been.  If someone would have told me last year where I would be now, I would have told them they were delusional.  I hate to sound cheesy, but our wedding day was perfect.  The weather in MI in April can be 80/muggy or 30/blizzard… it’s highly unpredictable.  The weather on our wedding day was low 70’s and full sun with a slight breeze.  It literally could not have been better.  The next day, it was 40 and raining, for reals.  Everything went exactly how I meticulously scheduled and planned.  My only complaint?  It went by way too fast.  😦  Sometimes it’s hard not to be sad that it’s all over!!  Anyway, I thought I would share a couple pictures! 

My three favorite people! Mom, Wayne, and my sis Erin.

First moment after the recessional. (disregard the OFF color of my flowers - sore subject!!)

I had a picture of my dad and his wedding ring tied in my bouquet.

My gorgeous bridesmaids and I

Cake table, obviously 🙂

Ok, enough of that!  Here’s what Wayne got me… Passion Roses!  I’ve never seen roses like this… red on the inside and pinkish/white on the outside.  They almost look like paper, no? 

Yesterday, we went to the new Target Stadium to see the Twins play.  I’m really not a baseball fan, but I was down to go anyway.  It was nice to get out, get some fresh air (along with a one-sided sunburn…), and hang out with the hubs.  We we starving afterwards and of course ate at Buffalo Wild Wings.  I swear Wayne would eat there every night if he could. 

The Twins are alright, but we will always be Tigers fans!

For our actual anniversary day, I decided to re-create our wedding night dinner:  Chicken Marsala (We had prime rib too, but I’m not about to whip up one of those!), cheesy potatoes, green beans, champagne, and CAAAKE!!!  

For the Chicken Marsala, I used the recipe/video…. HERE
For the Cheesy Potatoes, I used the recipe… HERE… I halved it

If you want details on the changes I made to the recipes or anything, let me know!

The chicken and potatoes turned out AWESOME!  This was my first time cooking with wine, so I was a little apprehensive, but it was soooo, SOOO good!  The potatoes were crusty and cheesy and almost as good as the ones at our wedding.  As for the cake, I was expecting a dry, freezer-burned brick.  After a whole year of being in 3 different freezers/houses and surviving a 10.5 hour drive in a cooler, the cake tasted EXACTLY like it did on the wedding day!  I kid you not, it was super moist, fresh, and absolutely delicious!!  I was shocked but definitely pleased.  In case you wanna know our cake packing process, here’s what my mom did with our cake:  wrap cake in 2-3 layers of saran wrap, then place in zip-lock freezer bag, then wrap in 2-3 layers of heavy aluminum foil.  Worked like a charm!  And after this monster post, I’m OUT!

 

5 Responses to “One year down”

  1. danica Says:

    Happy Anniversary!!! I LOVE those passion roses – so cool!

    Yeah, so glad you liked the potatoes ~ that chicken marsala looks AMAZING!

  2. Ashley Says:

    Happy Anniversary!! Mmmm best wedding cake ever!

  3. Carrie Says:

    Happy Anniversary!

    You are lucky your cake was still yummy. Ours was a little dry, but it was wonderful on our wedding day.

  4. […] of baby carrots and some red onion (I’ve been sawing away at the same damn onion since the Chicken Marsala!) with salt, pepper, and garlic powder.  I had them with an Amy’s burger on half a tortilla […]

  5. Rebecca Says:

    omg I still can’t believe it has been a year. wowwww. love you!


Leave a Reply

