WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

I might as well re-name my blog… April 15, 2010

Filed under: Shrimp — WannaBe Chef @ 6:17 pm

“Rachael Ray Recipe Maker” or something.  So, I have this big binder that I keep all my loose recipes in… you know… all the ones I print from blogs or rip out of magazines.  Tonight’s dinner was one of those.  I totally did not realize it was another Rachael recipe until I sat down to blog and saw it on the bottom of the page.  In my defense, though, it appears that this recipe was developed by a “test kitchen associate” named Katie.  So, there!  I kept all the ingredients the same, but changed up the process quite a bit and also have some ideas for next time.

Hoisin-Glazed Shrimp over Crispy Noodle Cake
My version of recipe from Everyday with Rachael Ray (Sorry, I don’t know which issue it’s from, I’m guessing March or April 2010)

INGREDIENTS:
2 packages (3-ounce) Ramen Noodles (discard the seasoning packets)
1/3 cup hoisin sauce
1 can (20-ounce) pineapple chunks, reserve 1/2 cup of the juice and discard the rest
Olive oil or vegetable oil for sauteeing
Hot sauce
1 bag (10 ounce) frozen, cut green beans, thawed with excess liquid removed
14-16 ounces large shrimp, peeled and deveined (I used a 14 oz. bag of pre-cooked, frozen shrimp that was thawed and rinsed – Walmart sells it pretty cheap!)
3 cloves garlic, minced

INSTRUCTIONS:
– In a medium bowl, stir together the hoisin, pineapple juice, and hot sauce.  Set aside.
– Cook noodles in boiling water until al dente and drain.  Press noodles into a greased 9-inch pie pan and let cool slightly.  Heat 1-2 Tbsp oil in a large skillet and slide the noodle cake into the pan.  Let cook until golden brown, flip carefully (I cut mine in half first, then used 2 spatulas to turn each half.)  Let cook on the other side until brown.  Remove noodle cake(s) from pan and set aside.
– In the same pan, add another bit of oil, the green beans and pineapple.  Stir occasionally and let cook on high heat until the beans and pineapple start to brown/blister.
– Add the garlic and cook another minute or so. 
– Add the hoisin mixture, let cook for a minute or so, then add the shrimp.  Mix to combine, just until the shrimp are heated through and coated with sauce. 
– Serve immediately over noodle cake.    

 

Another satisified customer, here!  This was really good, and I loved the mix of textures.  Just some thoughts, though:  I think I would use pineapple tidbits next time, because every time I had a bite with pineapple, it was a bit too sweet and overtook all the other flavors.  Also, I’m not sure I would go through that whole noodle process again.  Once you put the shrimp and sauce over the noodles, the crispiness kind of goes away, so next time I would just serve it with the plain cooked noodles or rice.  That would also save on the calories a tad because you wouldn’t need to saute the noodles in oil.  By the way, the original recipe called for SEVEN Tbsp of oil!!  Totally not necessary in my opinion.  I used just enough to get everything going.

 

Leave a Reply

