WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Best. Chicken. Ever. April 13, 2010

Filed under: Breakfast,Chicken,Favorites,Fish,Products,Salad — WannaBe Chef @ 5:44 pm

No babbling/whining/venting today… I’m just gonna get straight to the eats!

Breakfast was a Breakfast Cookie and a big strawberry.  In the cookie:  1/3 cup old-fashioned oats, 1/2 scoop Jillian Michael’s Vanilla Creme Protein Powder, cinnamon, pinch of salt, 1 Tbsp crunchy raw almond butter, 1/2 smashed banana, splash of almond milk.  I really liked the texture of this cookie (it was “wetter” than my previous cookies).  I’m not sure if I liked the banana in there, though, which is probably what it made it more moist, but yeah.  I just kept thinking of the mushy, gloppy texture of the banana as I was eating… 

Lunch was pretty much a clone of yesterday’s salad.  Everything was the same except the leftover salmon instead of chicken and Annie’s Light Honey Mustard Vinaigrette instead of homemade balsamic vinaigrette.  I have to say, yesterday’s combination was better!  I think the balsamic would have paired much better with the salmon.  This was still really good, though. 

After lunch, I decided I needed to wander around Super Target for a few things.  Good idea / bad idea.  Of course I spent waaay too much money, but I made some great foodie finds!  I’ve been drooling over these two items that I constantly see in blogs, but haven’t been able to find them till now:  Cookie Dough Luna Protein bars and Greek Olive Sabra!!!  I haven’t tried the hummus yet, but you can bet I tore right into one of those bars the second I walked in the door.  The inside reminded me of the nougat inside a Three-Musketeers bar, and the chocolate coating wasn’t overly sweet.  There were also a few little crunchies inside with the nougat and chocolate chips.  YUH-UMMM.  Best part is they’re under 200 calories! 

Dinner was a new chicken recipe I found over on Macaroni and Cheesecake.  Click the link for the recipe.  I followed the recipe exactly.  Hoooly crap, this was the best meal I’ve made in a long time!  The sauce was extremely flavorful, and the taste was spot-on to the real thing that you’d get in a Chinese restaurant.  It was a teeeeny bit on the hot side from the cayenne, so I would cut down on that next time.  There will be a next time for this dish, believe me!!  Please, do yourself a favor, and go make this!!

Don't worry, I had some broccoli with this after the photo session!

 

3 Responses to “Best. Chicken. Ever.”

  1. Stephanie Says:

    So glad you liked the chicken!! Love your blog..it’s super cute:)

  2. […] so full), it was time for dinner.  For the last supper, I had my favorite chicken ever planned:  Bourbon Chicken.  SO.  […]

  3. […] Chicken Pasta Cashew Chicken Bourbon Chicken Vegetable Lo-Mein Asian Turkey Meatballs Fried Rice Almond Sesame Turkey Tenderloin Chicken Lettuce […]


Leave a Reply

