WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

This post is the definition of random. April 10, 2010

Filed under: Chicken,Life,Side dish,Vegetable — WannaBe Chef @ 7:33 pm

Hello lovetarts.  Here I am, posting away!  I’m only uploading one pic today to make it easier on my sanity.  In all my frustration, I forgot to tell you all about my fabulous dinner in downtown Minneapolis last week.  Wayne’s boss was in town (he works in MI) and wanted to take us out to dinner.  No pressure or anything, ha.  Unfortunately, I didn’t take any pictures, for obvious reasons I think!  We went to a very nice restaurant called Dakota Jazz Club.  Click this link for their menu if you’re curious.  I had a glass of riesling, the celery root bisque, stuffed breast of amish chicken, and passion fruit brulee.  It was all SOOO, SOOOOO good!  The only minor issue I had was the extreme sweetness of the brulee.  It was like pure sugar.  I could barely eat half of it, and that’s saying a lot for me NOT to finish dessert!  Wayne’s boss was very nice, and with the exception of the slightly stressful drive into the city, it was a really nice evening out!

Hmm, what else…. Wayne and I ate out at Red Robin last night.  I had the Jamaican Jerk’d Chicken burger, and it was sooooo freaking good.  Today we had Panera for lunch, and I tried their new Mediterranean Salmon salad – a definite winner.  With all that eating out, I had to cook a semi-healthy dinner tonight.  I turned to Rachael Ray, once again!  This recipe was just a couple pages away from one of my favorites – Pineapple Jerk Chicken and Rice!

Yogurt-Marinated Chicken
Modified from Everyday With Rachael Ray, April 2010 issue (in the “Menu Planner” insert)
Original recipe includes asparagus and watercress, but I just made the chicken

INGREDIENTS:
1/2 cup plain Greek yogurt
olive oil
2 tsp chili powder
1 tsp ground coriander (I omitted because I didn’t have any.)
grated peel and juice of 1 lemon (less if you like a more subtle lemon flavor)
4-5 medium chicken breasts
salt and peppper

INSTRUCTIONS:
–  Mix yogurt, chili powder, lemon peel and juice in a large bowl
–  Place chicken in bowl, coating with yogurt mixture, let marinade for 10 minutes
–  Line a baking pan with foil, then place a greased rack in the pan
–  Place chicken in a single layer on the rack/pan, season with salt and pepper
–  Drizzle each chicken breast with olive oil
–  Broil chicken until done – about 5 minutes on first side, then flip and cook another 8-10 minutes until brown and cooked through

To be honest, I didn’t have high expectations for this chicken.  I should have known better, though, because Rachael never fails me.  It was super moist and very lemony, which I loved.  Again, if you don’t like a dominant lemon flavor, use less peel and/or juice, but I really enjoyed it. 

OH, and on the side there was a simple cabbage dish I threw together.  I used about half a bag of coleslaw mix, a little red onion, apple cider vinegar, salt, pepper, about 1 tsp of sugar, and some water – put it all in a covered saute pan and let ‘er rip for about as long as it took for the chicken to cook.  The other side is just a pre-made rice mix. 

Toodles for now!

 

2 Responses to “This post is the definition of random.”

  1. […] the beautious salad:  spinach, 2 huge strawberries, feta cheese and leftover yogurt-marinated chicken (heated up).  I made a quick vinaigrette consisting of balsamic vinegar, olive oil, dijon mustard, […]

  2. […] was straight from the freezer.  Remember this chicken and rice from 4-10-10??  Yeah, I forgot it was even in the freezer.  Wayne was the lucky one […]


Leave a Reply

