WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

ThisClose to giving up. April 8, 2010

Filed under: Breakfast,Life,Meatless,Products,Side dish,Soup,Sweets,Vegetable — WannaBe Chef @ 10:08 pm

I hate to make another rant about computer issues.  But, I’m so infuriated / defeated / sad / mentally worn down right now that I’m going to anyway.  If you’d rather not listen to me whine, skip down to the food pics that have taken 4 hours and a bucket of tears to upload. 

So yesterday, the creepy cable guy came back because our brand new flat screen TV has been acting up.  OF COURSE, there’s nothing wrong with the cable.  That’s another story for another rant day.  So the guy instead focuses on my internet issues.  He ends up coming back here THREE times over the course of the day.  After me running out to get a new router (which he was “99% positive is the problem”) and him hanging around forever, big surprise – new router didn’t work.  So then he rewires the place and now my laptop is plugged into the wall connection.  No wireless for me.  Kinda shitty, but hey, internet is internet.  I had grand visions of titling this post something cute that had to do with the massive amount of veggies I need to use up, hoping the wired internet connection would work its magic.  I was even gonna discuss my “thing” with food textures.  Yeah, well you guessed it… still getting “IO errors.”  I tried blogging from Wayne’s computer and got the same crap.  I’ve read the wordpress support forums, endlessly googled solutions, posted my problem on the forum, emailed the support team, updated my internet browser, cleared my cache, updated my flash player, and set all my security and firewall settings to zero (hello, viruses!).  I have managed to upload today’s pictures, sporadically (I don’t give a shit if that’s spelled wrong) between trying all those things.  I don’t know what else to do besides quit blogging.  Obviously, I don’t want to do that, but my sanity may be at stake.  Ok, I guess that’s the end of the rant for now.  Just know if you don’t see any posts for awhile, you know why. 

And now, I shall proceed with a semi-normal FOOD post.   

Breakfast was egg whites scrambled with spinach, red peppers, red onion, feta cheese and topped with chives alongside a toasted sandwich thin. 

Lunch was totally weird and random.  I made a clean-out-the-veggie-drawer soup.  It contained cabbage, red onion, red peppers, carrots, snap peas, chicken broth, a spoonful of leftover pizza sauce for some tomato flavor, Frank’s, and seasonings.  On the side was leftover crushed pineapple and the last 3 slices of turkey rolled up with grainy mustard.  

Snackage was “protein cookie dough” that I’ve seen all over blogland.  I found an actual recipe here on Foods of April.  Looks just like cookie dough, right?  It was definitely interesting.  I thought it tasted kind of flat and definitely had that slightly bitter, protein taste.  I fixed that by adding a few mini chocolate chips and a pinch of salt.  The salt is imperative in rounding out the flavors, in my opinion!

Dinner was another opportunity to use some veggies.  Wayne had a work dinner, so I was free to have a meatless dinner and try something I’ve only had once before… tofu!  I’ve avoided it because of my distinct memories of the strange texture.  I got extra firm, cut it into strips, marinated it in a mix of 1 T. soy sauce, 1 T. brown sugar, and 1 t. dijon mustard.  I roasted it at 400 along with the sweet potatoes.  On the other side is more veggies, sauteed with teryaki and garlic powder.  In the mix is a veggie I’m not too familiar with – bok choy.  I decided I’m not really a fan of it.  The leafy tops are OK, but the white stalks mimic the texture of water chestnuts which I CANNOT STAND.  I call it the “squeaky texture.”  And a little more about texture – I decided I like tofu better cold.  I ate some cold/plain tofu (Gliding Calm style!) and it was pretty tasty!  However, once cooked, it kind of took on an eggy texture… almost like hot-egg-on-bread / french toast / souffle texture, which I wasn’t a fan of.  So, I just let it cool, and it was delicious!  I see lots of cold tofu in my future. 

Ok, that’s all for now.  I feel a teeny, tiny, like 0.5% bit better getting that off my chest and actually getting a post done.  Toodles for now, loves.

 

One Response to “ThisClose to giving up.”

  1. Ashley Says:

    Don’t give up!!

    Random side note: I had a dream last night where you and I were shopping. I picked up the last Le Creuset pot in the entire store and I almost bought it (it was on sale, only $18!) but then you said you wanted it, so I gave it to you since I figured you’d actually use it more.

    So weird.


Leave a Reply

