WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Burgers with a question March 31, 2010

Filed under: Beverage,Breakfast,Life,Sandwiches,Turkey — WannaBe Chef @ 5:50 pm

So, the hunger continued last night, and I had the major munchies.  I had two medjool dates stuffed with raw almonds and Naturally More PB along with random other grazings.  I’m hoping it’s just hormones, if you know what I mean.  TMI anyone??   

Breakfast was boring and of the white/yellow variety:  1 egg with feta and Frank’s on a whole wheat English muffin along with some pineapple topped with vanilla Chobani and cinnamon.

Lunch was leftover soup from last night’s dinner, no picture because, well, that would just be repetitive :-p  And judging by the amount of soup that’s left, I will be eating it for the next week.  Afternoon snackage was a lovely smoothie served in a wine glass.  I didn’t measure, but in the smoothie was approx.:  1/2 cup frozen blueberries, 1/2 cup fresh pineapple, 2 big spoon-fulls vanilla Chobani, 1/2 scoop Jillian Michael’s vanilla creme protein powder, and a splash of skim milk to get things moving.  Yuh-um!!  Love the color.  I need a real blender, though, cuz the food processor doesn’t really get it completely smooth.

You may be wondering why I’ve purchased protein powder, or then again, you may not.  Being a RD, I tend to prefer a balanced diet of whole foods and stray away from supplemental stuff.  I’m not saying supplemental stuff is bad, it’s just how I’m wired.  Well, to cut to the chase, blogland has simply made me want to try new things.  I know that protein prolongs satiety, so I’m trying to test that a little.  I’ve also ordered a couple “superfoods” online that I plan to experiment with, and of course, share with you!  AAANYWAY!  On to dinner… MAN, these were awesome!!

Turkey Tequila Burgers
My version of Chicken Tequila Burgers from Cara’s Cravings

INGREDIENTS:
1 lb extra lean ground turkey
large handful cilantro, chopped
1 Tbsp soy sauce
1.5 shots tequila
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 jalapeno pepper, chopped
zest of 1 lime plus a squirt of the juice
salt and pepper
1/4 cup old-fashioned oats
sauteed bell peppers and onions, for topping, if desired

INSTRUCTIONS:
–  Combine all ingredients (except sauteed peppers/onions) in a large bowl
–  Split into 4 patties and place on foil-lined sheet pan that’s been coated w/cooking spray
–  Broil burgers for about 10-12 minutes total, flipping halfway through
–  Serve on buns or sandwich thins with sauteed peppers and onions
QUESTION!!  I’m still having blog identity problems.  What do you guys think… food-diary, random style or recipe format?  Do you get sick of seeing boring breakfasts on paper plates, snacks in my dry/cracked hands, and random cat pics?  Or should I go recipe format?  Sometimes I like the simplicity of a recipe with a short explanation and a really awesome picture.  Or maybe just stick with both formats?  Any words of advice would be greatly appreciated!!    

 

3 Responses to “Burgers with a question”

  1. Carrie Says:

    I know I am new to following your blog, but my vote is for the mix. This way I get breakfast/snack ideas that my not require a recipe and then sometimes a recipe for dinner too. Either way, I am sure I will keep reading!

  2. Ashley Says:

    I want a mix, too. I want to see some of what’s going on in the life of Mandee (and Wayne, too). I’m all about the random, so keep it coming, no matter what it is!

  3. Mom Says:

    I have to agree with Ashley, mix it up! And, I still want to see Ziggy pictures please. OMG, I totally forgot about the dates..ooooh sooo good. Interesting burgers too!


Leave a Reply

