WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Oh, Rachael… March 29, 2010

Filed under: Breakfast,Chicken,Favorites,Meatless,Products,Sandwiches,Soup — WannaBe Chef @ 6:31 pm

Howdy, lads and lassies.  I apologize again for the angry post yesterday.  I called the internet company this morning, and the asshole tech basically took a complete hands-off approach, telling me I need to “call the manufacturer of my computer” because it’s not the internet connection that’s the problem, all the while talking to me like I’m some kind of computer-illiterate moron.  Whoopee.  So, after hanging up on that ray of sunshine, I reset the modem and router (again), and the connection has held all day *knock on wood.*  I have been uploading today’s foodie pics throughout the day, hoping that somehow that would make a difference.  I still had some issues but whateverrrr… I will stop boring you with the details. 

~~~

Breakfast today was a whole wheat English muffin and 1 egg + 1 white scrambled with a touch of feta and topped with Frankie drops.  This really hit the spot after having sweet oat concoctions all week.   

Lunch was the last of the Red Pepper Tomato soup (I know, you’re heartbroken…) with Frankie, parm, and half of a chopped roma tomato for texture.  On zee left, you will see a TJ’s Organic Tofu Veggie Burger on a sandwich thin w/spinach and BBQ sauce.  Oh myyyy, was this good!!  I found them in the fridge section of the store, next to the sushi rolls… they come only TWO to a package, though (boo).  The flavor and texture was pretty much like a breaded chicken patty, but only 110 calories! 

Afternoon snackage was a bunch of baby dills with Horseradish Pub Cheese from, you guessed it, TJ’s.  This stuff packs a punch!

Dinner comes to you from the ever-annoying-but-actually-knows-what-she’s-doing Rachael Ray.  I’ve made quite a few of her recipes, and none of them have let me down.  I can’t tell you how good this was!!  I love sweet/savory combinations as well as a mix of textures.  This dish had it all.  The sweet, soft pineapple, paired with the heat of the peppers, slight crunch of the onions, freshness of the cilantro, and creaminess of the black beans… pure bliss.  I will say, though, I did not use jerk marinade.  I had this bottle sitting around and decided to use it instead of buying a separate bottle of jerk marinade.  I did add some Frank’s along with the sauce to make up for the heat.

Pineapple Jerk Chicken and Rice
Modified from Everyday With Rachael Ray, April 2010 issue (in the “Menu Planner” insert)

INGREDIENTS
Brown rice (I made about 3 servings worth)
Extra virgin olive oil for sauteeing
1 medium onion, chopped
1 jalapeno pepper, seeded and finely chopped
1 1/2 pounds boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut into 1 inch cubes (I used much less)
salt and pepper
1/2 fresh, whole pineapple, chopped into pieces a bit smaller than the chicken
1/2 cup jerk marinade, such as Lawry’s (or similar sweet/sour/hot sauce of your choice)
1 – 15 ounce can black beans
1/2 cup cilantro, chopped

INSTRUCTIONS
1.  Cook the rice according to package directions.
2.  Saute the onion and jalapeno in a large skillet coated in olive oil, until browned, about 5-7 minutes.  Transfer to bowl and set aside.
3.  Add a little more oil to the pan and saute the chicken (seasoned with salt and pepper) for about 5 minutes. 
4.  Add the pineapple and jerk marinade, simmer until chicken is cooked through, about 2-3 minutes.
5.  Stir in the onion mixture, black beans, and cilantro and cook until everything is heated through.  Season with more salt and pepper, if desired, and serve over rice.     

 

3 Responses to “Oh, Rachael…”

  1. Erin Says:

    Your making me hungry today, think I might have to try that chicken and pineapple dish. I think it would work with fake chicken.
    I tride the Chobani pomegranate this morning, I like the taste but not sure about the seeds.
    Good luck with that internet:)

  2. erin Says:

    Hey, I made the chicken with pineapple, I bought some tasty jerk marinade. Holy crap was that good! Paul ate 2 large bowls full. Thanks for trying it first.
    And I love your randomness. That way you don’t seem so far away, it’s like you have a few days off.

    • amsterwill83 Says:

      Yaaay! I’m glad you liked it and that it worked with fake chicken! Yes, I am just taking a few days off, I’ll be back soon…


Leave a Reply

