WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Weekend update March 28, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — WannaBe Chef @ 9:54 pm

**Disclaimer:  This post has taken approx. 3 hours to write due to shitty, horrible internet service and multiple “IO errors” (whatever the hell that means) while uploading pictures.  To say I’m pissed and frustrated would be a gross understatement.  So, I am apologizing now for the fragmented, off-centered crap that follows.  I’m leaving it written as I started it… hours ago. 

Hello bloggies, family, and randoms.  I’m gonna cut right to the chase since I have quite a few pics to share and am planning on budgeting at least an hour to upload them all (uugghh, all for you, though!)

~~~~

Saturday started out with another breakfast cookie… much better than the first one I made!

Made with 1/3 cup old-fashioned oats, 1 Tbsp Naturally More PB, 1/2 scoop Jillian Michael's Vanilla Creme Whey Protein, splash of almond milk, and cinnamon.

After breakfast, Wayne and I headed out for TRADER JOE’S!!!!!!  Woohooo!  There are FIVE of them in MN, and we went to the St. Paul one (about 20 minutes away).  It was suuuuper busy, so we only made one trip through the aisles.  I will be going solo on future visits, just FYI.  We got home, starving, and tore into some awesome Spicy California rolls.  YUH-UMMMM.

Saturday’s dinner was some Dover Sole (a white fish, new to me) we picked up at TJ’s.  The package said pan-searing was the best way to cook it.  I dredged it in a mixture of flour, bread crumbs, and seasonings, then pan-fried it in a little olive oil.  Well, after all the fish juice from the package spilled all over my counter/cabinet/floor (AAAHHHH!), the fish stuck all in the pan and totally fell apart.  The oil splattered all over my stovetop, and then I dropped the dirty spatula on the floor and watched breading and oil fly all over.  Not to mention, the frozen veggie mix I made as a side dish tasted like ass.  I was so pissed about the whole thing, I refused to take a picture!  After that disaster, we went and saw The Bounty Hunter, only to return to a fishy, rank smelling home.  Ewwwww.  Ok, enough of Saturday!

~~~~~

Sunday started with another oat concoction…

 ***OK, after FIVE attempts, the stupid ass picture does not want to upload.  So you’ll have to use your imagination about what a bowl of oats, almond milk, pro powder, strawberries, and TJ’s raw crunchy AB looks like.

The day continued with a little more shopping and my purchase of this freaking adorable, very spring-like purse.  Obsessed.

It's more purple-y in real life

Ok, I’m back after about an hour of trying to upload pictures and it saying “IO Error,” whatever that means.  Needless to say, a lot of F-bombs have been dropped.  Anyway, I finally joined the smoothie club and whipped one up this afternoon…

It was made with this stuff…

a handful of TJ's spinach, about 1 cup of TJ's Very Cherry Berry Mix, almond milk, and a touch of Splenda

Dinner was pizza made with TJ’s whole wheat pizza crust, turkey bacon, onion, tomatoes, mushrooms, spinach, and a mixture of mozz/parm/feta cheeses

 

2 Responses to “Weekend update”

  1. Ashley Says:

    Ooooh that pizza looks delish!! I hope your internet starts working better 😦 Booooo to shitty internet

  2. Carrie Says:

    I hate slow internet. I am lucky my work pays for mine and it has to be fast for all the files we download.

    Love the new bag. I too got a new fun summer bag before I left for Florida, but I have not blogged about it yet. Thanks for the reminder 🙂

    I give you a ton of credit for making fish. I am just now starting to try fish at restaurants, but I am way too scared to make it at home (not sue why).


Leave a Reply

