WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Amanda, homemaker March 25, 2010

Filed under: Beef,Life,Meatless,Salad,Soup — WannaBe Chef @ 7:52 pm

Is “homemaker” even a PC word anymore?  Is that even what it’s called?  Can I be one without having kids… or a real house?  I need to know these things.  Today was my first day of being here all day “alone.”  Wayne went to work and reportedly had lots of fun with the traffic.  I, on the other hand, spent the day inside (with the exception of an exhilarating walk down the hall to the mailbox and trash shoot… yes I said trash shoot.)  I did manage to make multiple lists (try five), get our closet and bathroom organized, forget to watch my old soap opera that starts at freaking eleven AM here, and make a nice dinner.  Son is starting to return to his normal self – he’s officially off MI time and on MN time since he did his usual wake-up-mommy-and-daddy-at-4:30 AM routine and managed to sleep for most of the day.  I got up at 6:30 with Wayne and decided I should just stay up.  I had some coffee and the exact same breakfast as yesterday – oats with PB and strawberries, my new favorite combination.  Lunch was a tribute to my former, daily free soup and salad at work.  I’m really gonna miss that!!  I haven’t bought salad in sooo long. 

 

In the salad:  Romaine, 1/2 an avocado (they’re growing on me!), cukes, carrots, pickles (*love*), parmesan, Annie’s Light Honey Mustard Vinaigrette, and for old times sake – McCormick’s Salad Supreme seasoning (Erin, RD, I pretended it was from your bottle.)  The soup was an organic Red Pepper and Tomato blend that I topped with parm and Frankie from a fresh, new bottle.  The soup is quite good, although I didn’t get much pepper taste, mostly tomato.  And you also see a slice of pumpernickel for dipping.  Yuh-um.   

Dinner was this:

Mini Meatloaves, made with lean ground beef, onions, garlic, ketchup, BBQ, soy sauce, an egg, bread crumbs, salt, pepper, and grill seasoning… baked at 375 for about 30-40 minutes.  On the side, you have an organic boxed spinach/mushroom risotto (not impressed, it was very garlicky) topped with parm and tomatoes, and green/yellow bean/baby carrot mix (the entire package contained only 6 baby carrots, what a rip-off!). 

I am loving the natural light for pictures, however, the windows are in the front of our townhouse, so I’m sure the neighbors already think I’m nuts…  Anywayzzz, that’s all for now, lovepies.  Stay tuned for another fun-filled day!  Maybe tomorrow, I will venture out!

 

Leave a Reply

