WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Check it off the list. March 15, 2010

Filed under: Life — WannaBe Chef @ 10:05 pm

Wayne and I have been quite productive tonight.  It’s about 9:45 and I’m finally sitting down.  Tonight is pretty much our last night at home with no plans, so multiple things needed to be checked off the list(s).  I got home and ate the exact same thing that I had for lunch yesterday – leftover BBQ beef and pasta salad.  I’m so glad my mom gave us leftovers, the perfect amount to get us through the last couple days!  After dinner, I went straight upstairs to clean the bathroom (uuuggh, definitely my least favorite household chore, grosssss).  Wayne got home and he joined in the cleaning fun!  Once he gets started, he doesn’t stop.  Love.  The other 2 bathrooms are cleaned, floors mopped, and kitchen cleaned.  I got a bunch of stuff organized, unloaded my car, packed up some stuff, and started cleaning out the fridge.  Our poor veggie drawers look like this now…

In between tasks, I had some bites (aka like 15…) of leftover German chocolate cake that Wayne’s boss, Sue, made for him.  YUMMMMMMM.  Not too sweet… perfect for multiple bites!!

Then I hard-boiled some eggs for the trip since we had a dozen left in the fridge to use up.  What’s your method of hard-boiling eggs?  My mom always taught me that you cover them with cold water, bring to a boil, then boil for 12 minutes (right, Mom??)  However, all the Food Network people say to cover with cold water, bring to a boil, then cover and remove from heat.  I decided to try this method and it worked like a charm!!  The yolks were soft and didn’t have that yucky gray ring around it!  I’m not sure how long I let them sit… maybe 15-20 minutes?? 

Doused with Frankie.

That’s all the randomdness I have for today.  I’m not sure when my next post will be… tomorrow I’m having dinner with my coworkers, and Weds we’re going to see some friends before we leave.  So, I’ll seeya when I seeya, kiddies.

 

One Response to “Check it off the list.”

  1. Mom Says:

    Hey, your fridge looks like mine now! I need some of that german choc cake…stat!


Leave a Reply

