WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Stoupid is as stoupid does March 8, 2010

Filed under: Soup,Turkey,Vegetable,Ziggy — WannaBe Chef @ 9:07 pm

Today was shitty, but I can always count on this little lover to be waiting at the door for me… 

Making dinner was somewhat therapeutic… until I spilled a good portion of turkey sausage in the sink while trying to drain it.  >:-(

Sausage and Broccoli Rabe Stoup
Recipe from Everyday with Rachael Ray, April 2010 issue, pg. 105

INGREDIENTS:
1 large head broccoli rabe, cut into 2-inch pieces
2 Tbsp olive oil (I omitted)
1 pound hot or sweet Italian sausage (I used plain turkey sausage)
1 large onion, chopped
3 cloves garlic, minced
1/8 tsp freshly grated nutmeg (I omitted)
32-ounce container chicken stock (4 cups)
28-ounce can diced tomatoes with their juices
15-ounce can white beans, drained and rinsed
1 1/2 cups small, short-cut pasta (I used just 1/2 cup orzo)
Grated parmesan cheese for topping
I also stirred in about 1 Tbsp of tomato paste, some oregano, basil, and garlic salt because I thought it was a little bland. 

INSTRUCTIONS:
1.  Boil the broccoli rabe in a medium pot of water for 3 minutes; drain and let cool.  I completely skipped this step because I didn’t see the point of dirtying another pan.

2.  In large soup pot, heat the oil (if using) and cook the sausage until browned.  I drained and rinsed the grease off once it was cooked.  Stir in the onions and garlic and cook until softened, about 5 minutes.  Season with salt, pepper, and nutmeg. 

3.  Add the chicken stock, tomatoes with their juices, and 2 cups of water.  Cover and bring to a boil.  Stir in the broccoli rabe and return to a boil.  Then stir in the beans and pasta.  Cook, stirring occasionally, until pasta is done.  Top individual servings with plenty of parmesan cheese. 

I really, really enjoyed this.  After Forrest-fying the title of the recipe, Wayne had three bowls of this.  It’s a good thing, because this recipe makes a biiiiig ole pot of stoup.  This was my first time trying broccoli rabe, and it was really good.  I was afraid it was going to be bitter, but it had a nice, mellow flavor and good texture.  I’m not sure I would call this a “stoup” by Rachael’s definition (“thicker than a soup, thinner than a stew”).  Mine was quite soup-like but it’s probably because I didn’t use as much pasta as the recipe called for.  That’s all for now, folks!

 

Leave a Reply

