WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Weekend Re-cap March 7, 2010

Filed under: Chicken,Life,Pizza — WannaBe Chef @ 10:01 pm

Here we are, another Sunday night.  The weekend flew by, as they usually do.  This was officially our second-to-last full weekend in MI before we move.  Friday night, Wayne and I went to the mall to buy a cartop cargo bag, then we went to Lonestar for dinner.  The portions at that place kill me.  It’s just crazy.  I ordered the “Sidewinder Chicken,” which is two BBQ chicken breasts covered w/cheese and fried onions, andfor sides I picked the sweet potato and broccoli.  After some peanuts and pre-dinner bread, I could only stomach just-shy of half of my meal (I peeled off the greasy cheese and onions, too).  Wayne couldn’t even eat all of his pork chop meal.  We left uncomfortably full, ugh.  On the bright side, I had plenty left for lunch on Saturday, so much in fact, that I shared it with Wayne. 

The sweet potato was the size of a soft ball, not even joking...

To backtrack a little, I dabbled in the savory oats trend again on Saturday.  They turned out much better than the first batch, but I decided not to post the pic because it does not look very appetizing.  Next time, I won’t stir the salsa into the oats because it gave it a gross pink color, ha.  Aaaanyway… so Saturday night was our going-away party.  We had a really good turn out.  We had dinner at a favorite Mexican restaurant of ours, bar-hopped, danced, and crashed at a hotel.  Denney’s breakfast was had this morning (mmm, hash browns).  It was a good time, and we’re so thankful to everyone who came from all over to hang out with us before we leave!! 

All the boys!

Amanda squared. Love this girl!

Today was spent getting some groceries and doing the usual household stuff.  I did end up taking a little snooze on the couch since the hotel sleep last night was hooorrible!  Wayne wanted pizza for dinner tonight, so I caved and made one.  I guess it’s a little better than ordering a greasy Hungry Howie’s, right??

Pre-made wheat crust, turkey pepperoni, sauteed mushrooms/broccoli/onions, ham on Wayne's side, and reduced-fat cheese. Deeeelicious!

That’s all the randomness I have for you tonight.  I’m gonna spend the rest of the night watching the Oscars, making multiple lists, and eating popcorn.  I have a new recipe planned for tomorrow night, but the rest of the week will be devoted to using up the scraps!  Toodles for now, loves.

 

Leave a Reply

