WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Sold! February 8, 2010

Filed under: Life,One dish meal,Pasta,Turkey — WannaBe Chef @ 8:14 pm

I am proud to report that after many shady encounters, fruitless inquiries and false hopes, the many items we have Craig’s-listed are officially SOLD!  This includes our 60″ monster TV, foosball table, old couch, 2 chairs, coffee table, desk w/chair, and 20 wedding vases/gems are all GONE!  It’s a huge relief to know we won’t have to store or move all this stuff that we won’t need when go you-know-where.  Plus, some extra cash never hurts!  😉 

SO… onto other important things… dinner.  This was another new recipe I found in one of the magazine-lettes my mom gave me a couple months ago.  This little puppy has been a wealth of quick, tasty recipes!

Sausage and Pumpkin Pasta
Recipe from “Taste of Home:  Healthy Cooking”

INGREDIENTS:
2 cups uncooked multigrain bowtie pasta (I used spiral noodles)
1/2 pound turkey sausage
1/2 pound fresh mushrooms
1 medium onion, chopped
4 cloves garlic, minced
1 1/2 cups chicken broth (I used closer to 1 1/4 cups)
1 cup canned pumpkin puree
1/2 tsp rubbed sage
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp garlic powder
1/4 tsp pepper
parmesan cheese and parsley to garnish

INSTRUCTIONS:
-Cook pasta according to package directions
-In large skillet coated with cooking spray, saute the sausage, mushrooms, onions and garlic until turkey is done; drain and return to pan
-Stir in the broth, pumpkin, sage, salt, garlic powder and pepper
-Bring to a boil then reduce heat, let simmer for 5-6 minutes until slightly thickened
-Stir in the cooked pasta and heat through
-Serve and top with parmesan cheese and parsley

This meal came together so fast, I got to take the picture while it was still light outside!

The verdict:  I would recommend tasting this at the end and adjusting the seasoning if needed.  I found that it needed a little extra salt, sage, and garlic powder.  The parmesan really gave it another dimension of flavor, too.  I really enjoyed this… definitely different than anything I’ve ever made.  The flavors really worked well together.  I’m sold! 

 

One Response to “Sold!”

  1. […] have to go to the store!  It worked out great because I had just enough pumpkin leftover from my pumpkin sausage pasta, and I also threw in some mini chocolate […]


Leave a Reply

