WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

BLD 4 U February 7, 2010

Filed under: Breakfast,Meatless,One dish meal,Vegetable — WannaBe Chef @ 7:44 pm

Using Rachael Ray terminology, “BLD” (if I remember right) refers to a meal that can be served for breakfast, lunch, or dinner… now that’s my kind of meal!  I found this recipe while searching for yet another possible dish to be served at our Nutrition Month open house at work.  I changed quite a few things in the recipe and was a little apprehensive, but it turned out really well!  It’s also a great way to clean out the veggie drawer in your fridge.  I’m definitely gonna add this to my collection.

Quick Crustless Quiche
Serves 4-6.  Adapted from recipe found here.

1 cup fat-free milk
5 whole eggs, beaten
4 ounces (1 cup) shredded sharp cheddar cheese
1/2 cup whole wheat flour
approx. 2 cups finely chopped veggies (I used spinach, red peppers, 3 green onions, and a little bit of sweet yellow onion)
1/2 tsp dried dill
1/2 tsp dried basil
1/2 tsp dried oregano
salt and pepper

-Preheat oven to 350 and grease a 9-inch pie pan (I used my springform pan, but make sure you line it well with foil, or it’ll leak.)
-Mix all ingredients together
-Pour into pan and bake 30-40 minutes or until center is set and slightly browned.  (Cooking time will vary, I always get impatient and end up cranking up the heat.  30 minutes at 350 did not get mine done.)

Turkey bacon, toast, and a splash of Frankie make for a complete B, L, or D. Yummo!

 

3 Responses to “BLD 4 U”

  1. mrssturgis Says:

    Ooh, that looks DELICIOUS!

  2. […] spinach and various other ingredients), but yeah, it didn’t work.  Dinner tonight was this crustless quiche I made not long ago.  I stilllll had a ton of veggies left over from that damn Asian Slaw I made […]

  3. […] pm Part 2 = Saturday.  First, we had to start off the day with a proper breakfast.  I had my Quick Crustless Quiche planned, so we had that with some toast and fruit.  I’ve made this quiche many times […]


Leave a Reply

