WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

I heart soup. February 4, 2010

Filed under: Favorites,One dish meal,Soup — WannaBe Chef @ 7:50 pm

After an indulgent day of birthday eating yesterday, I am back on track today.  I strategically planned this lighter soup for tonight, knowing that yesterday wouldn’t be so great.  I also have a never-ending bag of spinach that I needed to put a dent in, so this was perfect.  I seriously love soup, pretty much any kind.  It’s so warm and comforting, and usually pretty good in the calorie department.  This one was super simple and really, really good.  I know I’ll be making this soup over and over.  The bacon really gives it the smokey flavor of slow-cooked bean soup.   

White Bean and Spinach Soup
Recipe adapted from a Better Homes and Gardens magazine-lette “Heart-Healthy Living”

1 medium onion, chopped
1 slice bacon, chopped (I used 2 slices of turkey bacon)
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 (15 oz) can white beans, drained and rinsed (removes a lot of the sodium!)
1 (14.5) oz can diced tomatoes, undrained
1 (14 oz) can chicken broth
1 tsp dried thyme (I used just a sprinkle of two cuz it tends to be hard/chewy)
2 cups baby spinach

~In large saucepan, cook onion, bacon and garlic until onion is softened, about 5 mins
~Stir in beans, cook another minute or two
~Stir in tomatoes, broth, and season with salt and pepper
~Bring to a boil, then simmer, covered, for about 20 mins
~Mash some of the beans with a wooden spoon to thicken the soup a little
~Stir in the spinach and let wilt
~Serve with bread, toasted baguette, crackers etc.  I also added a splash of hot sauce.

 

Leave a Reply

