WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Who put oatmeal in my meatloaf? February 2, 2010

Filed under: Chicken,One dish meal — WannaBe Chef @ 8:30 pm

First let me say how esssscited I am for my day off tomorrow (it just might be my birthday, which happened to fall on my day off for working the weekend.  I’m spending the day with my mommmmy then we’re both meeting Wayne for a nice dinner.  Yaaaaay!! 

Anyway… dinner tonight was a twist on meatloaf.  I found the recipe while blog surfing and have since seen it pop up all over the place.  I was a tad skeptical because it calls for oatmeal… and not just a little, but 2/3 of a cup.  My mom has made traditional meatloaf with oatmeal before, and I have to say, the texture was a little odd (sorry mom!!).  I decided to give this one a go, though, because we love anything “buffalo,” and all the bloggers said it was tasty.

Buffalo Chicken Meatloaf
Recipe taken from Erin’s Food Files but originally comes from The Biggest Loser Cookbook

2/3 cup old-fashioned oats (I used quick oats)
1/2 cup skim milk
1/3 cup hot sauce
1 lb. lean ground chicken
1/4 cup celery, chopped
1/4 cup carrot, shredded (I used chopped carrot)
1/4 cup onion, chopped (I used red onion)
2 egg whites
salt
1/2 cup blue cheese (I used 1/3 cup feta cheese cuz blue cheese is grosssss)

– combine the oats and milk in a small bowl to soften, then stir in the hot sauce, set aside
– combine the rest of the ingredients in a large bowl, then add the oat mixture
– bake in a loaf pan at 350 for 35-40 min (I baked at 400-425 for quite a while…)

Meatloaf will never be pretty.

The verdict:  OK.  The flavor was really good.  However, I can’t get over the texture that the oats give it.  It just seemed very “wet” and soft.  I definitely baked it at a higher temp for at least the same amount of time.  It did seem to set up as it cooled, though.  I wish the whole pan was a big brown, crusty edge like in the picture.  It’s definitely edible, and I probably would make it again, but with breadcrumbs replacing some of the oats.  Maybe using old-fashioned oats would have made all the difference?  Anyway!!  This has turned out to be a reeeally long review of a measley meatloaf!  Toodles for now loves.

 

One Response to “Who put oatmeal in my meatloaf?”

  1. Glad to hear you liked the flavor, sorry you didn’t like the texture! I don’t think you’d lose much “nutrionally” if you went ahead and used the breadcrumbs. Thanks for linking back to me!


Leave a Reply

