WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Bittersweet January 31, 2010

Filed under: Chicken,Fruit,Life,One dish meal,Vegetable — WannaBe Chef @ 8:23 pm

That’s how the weekend has been…. a little bittersweet.  I worked this weekend… for the last time at my current job.  As stressful as working weekends are (being the only RD covering the whole hospital!), I would gladly continue doing it if it meant I didn’t have to move!  The buyer of our house also had it inspected this weekend.  Everything went well, which is great, but it just made everything that much more official.  It’s only a matter of time now.  Lastly, we got rid of another large Craig’s-listed item tonight… my old desk and chair that we won’t need in MN.  I love getting rid of things we don’t need, but there’s always a few seconds where I’m like “aww, my [insert item here] is gone!”  We still need to dump the monster beautiful 60″ TV and very fun foosball table that we reeeeally don’t want to haul anywhere… any takers out there??

Anyway!!  Enough Debbie Downer, right?  On the bright side… I have been sticking to my calorie-counting and getting back on the train.  Despite working all weekend, I’ve managed to plan this week’s dinners and get groceries.  Speaking of dinner… tonight’s was inspired by a recipe I found while blog-surfing.  It totally flashed me back to a dinner my mom used to make.  Actually, I’m thinking it’s just about the exact same thing.  Remember this, mom??

Sweet and Sour Chicken
Based on Chicken, Pineapple, and Peppers from So Tasty, So Yummy

1 lb. chicken breast, cubed
1/2 large onion, chopped
1 bell pepper (any color), chopped (I used red)
1 T garlic, minced
1/2 Tbsp ginger, minced
1/2 Tbsp worchestershire (I accidentally forgot this, but would add 1-2 Tbsp cuz I love it!)
1-2 Tbsp soy sauce
1 cup pineapple chunks, lightly drained (reserve about 3 Tbsp of the liquid and set aside)
1 (14.5 oz) can stewed tomatoes, undrained
approx 1 cup chicken broth
2 Tbsp cornstarch

1.  Saute chicken, onion, pepper, garlic, and ginger in large skillet until chicken is cooked
2.  Add worchestershire, soy, pineapple, tomatoes and broth – bring to a boil
3.  Stir the pineapple juice and cornstarch together in a small bowl, then stir it into the pot and bring back to a boil until thickened and a nice sauce forms.  You may need a touch more chicken broth if it gets too thick. 
4.  Serve over brown rice. 

Mmm, almost tropical looking.

 

One Response to “Bittersweet”

  1. […] it “Sweet and Sour Sausage with Rice” because it’s pretty much identical to THIS Sweet and Sour […]


Leave a Reply

