WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Skillets of fiber January 28, 2010

Filed under: Chicken,One dish meal,Pasta,Sweets — WannaBe Chef @ 7:52 pm

Odd title, ay?  (I’m practicing my Minnesota/pseudo Canadian accent).  The skillet part refers to my dinner tonight (yes, another skillet), and the fiber part refers to an amaaaazing new breakfast bar recipe that I’m also going to share.  Two recipes, one post.  Woot woot, no?

Chicken Orzo Skillet
Recipe found in magazine “Taste of Home: Healthy Cooking” on display till Jan 25, 2010
The following is my alterations on the recipe, although I hardly made any changes. 

In a large skillet, brown and cook through:
1 lb boneless, skinless chicken breast, cubed
1 small onion, chopped
Italian seasoning – about 1/2 – 1 tsp
Garlic powder, salt and pepper (and/or other desired seasonings)

Stir in:
1 can (14.5 oz) can diced tomatoes, undrained
1 box (10 oz) frozen chopped spinach, thawed and squeezed dry
1 cup water (you may need a little more, depending on how much water you got out of the spinach)

Bring to a boil, then reduce to a simmer.  Cover and simmer for 15-20 minutes or until orzo is tender and liquid is absorbed.  Stir a couple times and add a little more water if needed.  Top each serving with parmesan cheese. 

Now for the bars.  I found this recipe on one of my favorite blogs:  Peas and Thank You.  Check it out, she has the cutest kids and a great sense of humor!  At work, we’re trying to come up with ideas and recipes for our annual Nutrition Month open house.  I did not hesitate to suggest and then volunteer to “test” this recipe… you know, just to make sure it was OK 😉

No-Bake High-Fiber Breakfast Bars

Ingredients:
1/3 cup peanut butter (I used natural PB)
1/3 cup agave nectar, maple syrup, or combo of both (I used all agave)
1/3 cup unsweetened applesauce
1/2 cup dried apples (I subbed dried cranberries)
1/4 cup raisins
1/4 hemp seeds (I omitted)
1/3 cup ground flaxseeds
1/2 cup old-fashioned oats (I used quick oats)
3/4 tsp cinnamon
2 cups high-fiber cereal twigs (All Bran) 

Instructions:
In a small bowl, combine PB, agave/maple, and applesauce.  Gently heat in microwave, stirring until smooth.  In a larger bowl, combine the rest of the ingredients.  Add wet ingredients to the dry and mix well.  Press into 8×8 pan (sprayed w/non-stick spray) and refrigerate until set.

I cut the batch into 16 squares, and with my few changes, each square contains about 113 calories.  Not too shabby!  These were reeeeally good!!  Everyone at work enjoyed them, too.  I’ll definitely be making these again.  Maybe next time I’ll get crazy and add some nuts or change up the dried fruit.

 

 

Leave a Reply

