WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Homey January 27, 2010

Filed under: Beef,One dish meal — WannaBe Chef @ 8:12 pm

Last night’s post was wordy enough for 2 nights… tonight I give you strictly dinner with just a few words.  This one-pot-wonder was incredibly easy to make, filling, cozy, warm, and homey.  It’s basically all the components of a cabbage roll without all the hassle.  I calculated out the calories while it was simmering, and I couldn’t believe it was only about 340 calories per serving (which is 1/4 of the pot… which is A LOTTT!!)  Score.  I totally dig large volume for little calories.  Wayne even said the words every cook dies to hear… “You should make this more often, I like it.”  :-)!!! 

Cabbage Skillet
Recipe found HERE during a google search on what do w/my leftover cabbage. 

Ingredients:
3/4 lb extra lean ground beef (I used 1 pound)
1 medium onion
1 package zesty Italian salad dressing mix
1 (28 oz) can crushed tomatoes
8 cups shredded cabbage (I used more like 2-3 cups because that’s all I had)
1 cup water
1 cup dry minute brown rice
I also added some Italian herb seasoning

Instructions:
1.  Brown meat/onion with dressing packet in large skillet (I rec. using a large soup pot.  I had to change pans halfway through because everything wouldn’t fit in my largest skillet). 
2.  Add tomatoes and cabbage, stir to combine.  Simmer, covered, for about 20 minutes until cabbage is tender.
3.  Stir in water and rice, bring to a boil.  Cover, reduce heat and simmer for 5-10 minutes until rice is cooked. 
4.  Top with a little parmesan cheese if desired. 

 

 

Leave a Reply

