WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

WannaBe “Baker,” take 2 December 20, 2009

Filed under: Holiday,Sweets — WannaBe Chef @ 8:16 pm

Every Christmas, I have grand plans to bake plates and plates of goodies.  Unfortunately, it just never happens because… well, you can read why I don’t bake here.  Oh, and you can also read about another time I tried to bake and how it turned out here.  This year, I wanted to make just a little something to bring to our neighbors and to work.  I saw these incredibly easy cookies over on this blog and figured there’s no way I could mess these up!

Whipper Snappers
From Trying to Heal blog (scroll down a little bit to see her pretty cookies)

Ingredients:
1 box cake mix, any flavor (I made a batch of red velvet and a batch of funfetti)
1 egg
1 regular-sized tub Cool Whip, thawed (I used lite)
powdered sugar

Method:
Heat oven to 350.  Mix the first three ingredients together, use some elbow grease!  The dough will be thick and sticky.  Spoon a blob of dough into a shallow dish you’ve filled with powdered sugar.  Coat the blob in the sugar, then pick it up and gently form into a ball.  Place onto cookie sheets (I sprayed the pans lightly with cooking spray).  Bake for 10-15 minutes. 

It took me a few batches to get the timing right.  (I did manage to slightly burn the first batch!)  I found that you have to take them out when the tops still seem wet/doughy, then let them sit on the pan a couple minutes before putting them on the cooling rack.  Most of my batches stayed closer to 10 minutes than 15…. and I used the 2nd from the bottom rack in the oven.  In case you wanted to know, I got 41 red velvet cookies and 47 funfetti (I obv made these a wee bit smaller).

 

Leave a Reply

