WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Fat Friday December 11, 2009

Filed under: Beef,Beverage,Breakfast,Fruit,One dish meal,Potato — WannaBe Chef @ 8:56 pm

I’m falling off the healthy train just a little bit.  I have a lotttt on my mind, and I tend to eat away my feelings… so healthy, right??  At least I’m honest with myself, though… ha… ANYWAY…. my days always start with a healthy breakfast…

Wheat toast w/crunchy almond butter, banana, honey, and cinnamon.... x 2

I’m not quite to the point where I take pics of everything I eat (not sure I ever will be)… so we’ll skip promptly to dinner.  Once again, I sort of followed a recipe, but not really… I use the recipe more as a guide to the method… and I always try to health-ify it a little.  Here’s what I did…  Oh wait a minute, I enjoyed this glowing adult beverage while cooking…

Vodka, OJ and grenadine

Ok, back to business…

Bacon Cheeseburger Pie
Mix in a bowl:
1 lb lean ground beef
chopped onion (I used 1/4 of a large onion)
bread crumbs (about 1/3-1/2 cup)
ketchup, mustard, seasonings of choice (you’re basically making a meatloaf here)

– Press meat into ungreased, 8×8 or 9×9 baking dish/pan (or pie dish if you have one… hence the title haha) and bake at 375 for 12 minutes. 
– While that’s cooking, whip up some instant potatoes according to the package directions (make about 3 or 4 servings).  I omit the butter (no need for it) and use 1/2% milk.  Season the spuds liberally with salt, pepper, garlic powder, whatever you want.  After they cook, stir in some shredded cheese (1/2 cup or so).
– Spread potatoes over top of partially cooked meat “crust.”  Bake for like… 10 or 15 more minutes more.  Top with another sprinkle of cheese and some crumbled, cooked turkey bacon (4 slices or so).  Bake for another 2 minutes or so till cheese is melted. 
– Top individual serving with diced tomato and green onions if desired.  I also sloshed some worchestershire on top cuz I looove it! 

This was an essentially veggie-less dinner (unless you count the little bit of unpictured toms) but nonetheless very comforting and tasty.  I am now enjoying a second (or maybe third) drinky draaank 🙂 

Toodles for now!

 

Leave a Reply

