WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

As promised… December 7, 2009

Filed under: Meatless,One dish meal,Pasta,Vegetable — WannaBe Chef @ 8:06 pm

It’s Butternut Macaroni and Cheese!  I baked the squash yesterday and had it all ready to go for tonight, so this came together pretty quickly.  I highly recommend doing this if you plan on making this meal during the week because the squash takes at least an hour.  This yummy recipe was found HERE on Escape from Obesity.  I omitted the nutmeg (didn’t have any), used a squirt of brown mustard instead of mustard powder, and used less cheese (maybe 9 ounces or so… I only had a full bag and part of another bag to use up.)  I also baked it at 375 so it wouldn’t take so long 🙂 

So cheesy, and the squash gives it a nice creamy quality.

Mmm, served with fresh sauteed broccoli.

I had this x 1000....

Did you notice the lighting/color is different on all these pics?  I’ve been trying to play with the settings on my camera and lighting in my house.  I think I’m gonna try my hand at a homemade lightbox one of these days…

 

Leave a Reply

