WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Thanksgiving Re-cap November 29, 2009

Filed under: Beverage,Holiday,One dish meal,Potato,Side dish,Sweets,Turkey,Vegetable,Ziggy — WannaBe Chef @ 12:46 pm

I did plan on blogging over my four day weekend, but unfortunately I forgot to bring my camera cord to my mommy’s.  Oh well, better late than never, right?  I had a lovely holiday and break from work.  It all started on Wednesday night.  Mom and I enjoyed a nice cocktail while getting some night-before-prepping done (aka… Amanda chopping mountains of celery and onions for the stuffing, as per usual) 

According to Bailey's: chocolate martini = Bailey's + vanilla vodka. According to mom and I: waaaay too strong, so copious amounts of milk was added.

Then came Thanksgiving day.  I was a bad blogger and didn’t take a whole lot of pictures.  Here’s Martha Stewart’s my mom’s festive table.

Lots and lots of food was had.  I only took this one pic of my first plate (yes, first plate).  Just for list-making sake… we had turkey breast soaked in yummy brine overnight, stuffing, mashed potatoes, squash, sesame green beans, whole grain rolls, obligatory canned cranberry sauce, gravy, waldorf salad, relish tray, and dessertssss. 

My apologies... I didn't realize this was so blurry until far after I inhaled this. On the plate: squash, cranberry, turkey hiding in the back, potatoes, gravy, stuffing, green beans, waldorf salad. Holy yummmmm.

We waited about 2 seconds to have dessert.  I, as always, was so full that I could barely move… but does that stop me from packing in a little dessert??  Not really.  I’m not much of a fan of pumpkin pie (it’s a texture thing… I like to call it the “gag texture” haha).  So, I had a little taste of the apple crisp and some pumpkin mousse (sorry, no pic of this!).

Martha comes out again with the decorative pumpkin pie

Once we all stuffed our faces, the dishes were done, and the leftovers were compiled into things like this: 

Best thing ever: stuffing on the bottom, then turkey, and frosted with potatoes. Just slice it, heat it up, and top with gravy and a side of cranberry. Delisssshhhh.

And for entertainment?  I brought my son along and got to witness the 23412 standoffs with my childhood, 15-year-oldish cat Missie… hilarious.  Don’t worry, no harm was done, they’re all talk.

 

2 Responses to “Thanksgiving Re-cap”

  1. Ashley Says:

    Holy Thanksgiving goodness! Terri strikes again with that beautiful tablescape and the cute little leaves on the pie! I love it! And I love the kitty pic – is Missie really that old?? Holy crap!

    • amsterwill83 Says:

      Yes!! Do you remember our orange cat Boris? Well he disappeared when I was in 7th or 8th grade :-(. We got Missie not long after that… making me like 14 or 15 I guess. She was an adult when we got her… so we are guessing she’s 14 or 15! She sure doesn’t act like it though. And Chubby (aka Millie) isn’t much younger than her either. Aaah we are getting old!!


Leave a Reply

