WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Vacation’s over! November 22, 2009

Filed under: Meatless,One dish meal,Sandwiches,Soup,Vegetable — WannaBe Chef @ 8:13 pm

The hunter has returned… deerless…. which is totally fine with me.  It was kind of nice to have some time to myself, but it’ll sure be nice to get a full night’s sleep again.  Living in the dark, kind-of-secluded woods and sleeping alone for a week wasn’t all the great, believe it or not.  So I’m pretty much out of groceries, and I wasn’t about to go shopping after a long weekend of work.  Remember that tomato spinach soup I mentioned the other day?  Well that was about the only option for tonight’s dinner.  The soup alone would have sufficed for me, but I felt the need to make some chicken too since the carnivore was back. 

Le wrap contains chicken, hummus, laughing cow cheese and BBQ. Yummy.

Tomato Spinach Soup
I saw this recipe originally on a Rachael Ray show yearsss ago.  I used to make it in college all the time because it was so easy and low-calorie.  I never really had the “recipe” for this, so it comes out a little different every time.

1 medium onion, chopped
1 clove garlic, minced
1 can chicken broth
3 cans tomatoes of your choice (I used 2 cans petite diced and 1 can sliced stewed.)
1 bag fresh spinach or 1 box frozen spinach, thawed with excess water squeezed off (I prefer fresh but only had frozen today.) 
Salt, pepper, olive oil, and other seasonings if you desire
Parmesan cheese

Sautee the onion with olive oil in a soup pot.  Add garlic once the onions have softened and become translucent.  Cook another minute or two.  Add all the other ingredients, bring to a boil for a few minutes then let simmer.  Top individual servings with plenty of parmesan cheese.

 

Leave a Reply

