WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Just for fun… November 20, 2009

Filed under: Breakfast,Fish,Meatless,Products,Salad,Sweets,Vegetable — WannaBe Chef @ 10:58 pm

I had the day off today because I have to work all weekend (uuggh).  I slept in, did some stuff around the house, and basically just relaxed all day.  So, for sh!ts and giggles, I thought I would photograph everything I ate and make a post out of it.  The only thing that escaped the camera was half of a Larabar 🙂 

Breakfast:  Not consumed until 10AM!!  Ssshh!!  1 egg + 1 white, scrambled with Laughing Cow cheese wedge and salsa.  Sandwich thin w/margarine and coffee with organic vanilla creamer on the side.  Delishhh. 

Lunch:  Sort of Hugh Jass salad with crumbled Morningstar Asian burger, red pepper hummus, sprouts, cheese, cucumbers, and Light Asian dressing… with leftover roasted squash on the side (even better the next day!).  This tasted great as I was trying to figure out why the heck Brad, of ATWT, is now a ghost. 

Dinner:  This was probably one of the most random meals I’ve come up with.  My stash of groceries is dwindling, and I just didn’t feel like making the tomato-spinach soup I planned on (maybe tomorrow…).  On this snack plate of sorts was salsa, Trader Joe’s Veggie and Flaxseed Tortilla Chips, tuna mixed with Laughing Cow wedge, Frank’s, and pickles, honeycrisp apple, Spicy Roasted Chickpeas.  Delicious, random, and full of different textures (*love*).  Oddly enough, the best combination of flavors was the apple and chickpeas.  After roasting, the chickpeas get all chewy and nutty.  I’ll definitely be making these again.   

Spicy Roasted Chickpeas
Recipe found in Clean Eating magazine Nov/Dec 2009 issue.  I did no measuring.

2 cups chickpeas, drained and rinsed (I used 1 can of beans)
1 Tbsp fresh lemon juice
1 Tbsp olive oil
1 tsp maple sugar flakes (What the heck are these??  I used brown sugar.)
1 1/2 tsp cumin
1/2 tsp coriander (I omitted)
1/4 tsp cinnamon
pinch cayenne pepper
salt and pepper

Toss all ingredients together and spread on foil-lined baking sheet.  Roast at 425 for 20-25 minutes or until browned in spots.  Toss mixture half-way through cooking.  Store in fridge.

Snack time:  Chobani vanilla greek yogurt, 2 low-fat cinnamon graham crackers, mini chocolate chips… stirred all together to make a nice mess.  Very tasty, but not as good as last night’s mess (strawberry Chobani with cinnamon Puffins and choc chips 🙂 )

 

Leave a Reply

