WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

This is why I’m not “Wannabe Baker” November 10, 2009

Filed under: Sweets,Ziggy — WannaBe Chef @ 8:33 pm

I made these last week as a treat to bring on a visit to see my sister.  I like to call them a big, fat cookie FAIL.  I found the recipe HERE.  I’ve had it saved forever.  Maybe my expectations were too high.  Check out the pics on the link for what the cookies are supposed to look like.  Anyway, I spent quite awhile on night #1 making all these…

IMG_0615

That's my ring to show how freaking tiny the whooole pan of truffles were...

Then the next night, I made the cookies.  I followed the recipe exactly.  Ok, so I didn’t refrigerate the dough for 20 minutes before making the first batch… they totally spread out and melted into each other.  I learned my lesson (or so I thought…) and put the dough in the fridge.  Yeah, didn’t help.  The second batch burned.  I turned the temp down to 350 and raised the rack up.  Nope, then I got doughy centers with crispy edges for batch 3 and 4.  You will also see that the cute little cookie dough truffles totally flattened and combined with the cookie base.  Uuuughhh….

IMG_0623

IMG_0625

Those are the burnt ones all stacked up…

The cookies didn’t taste bad, but there was definitely no definition between the chocolate cookie base and the cookie dough pieces.  *Sigh* I still brought them to my sister, and they did get gobbled up.  But howww frustrating…

On another note… on the way home from our little trip, we stopped at TRADER JOE’S!!!!!!!!!  I’ve been dreaming about it for monthssssss, and it was everything I ever imagined it would be 🙂  I bought lots of goodies.  I only wish I was closer to one!  Tonight I made these teeny tiny potatoes and skinny little green beans.  Soooo yummy and inexpensive.  I also had jalapeno chicken sausages (the one in the pic isn’t one of them, though).

IMG_0631

Not-so-great picture of yummy dinner: teeny tiny potatoes with salsa, turkey cheddar kielbasa, skinny green beans.

Lastly, to wrap up this long and random post… another picture of my son who has no problem posing for the camera.

IMG_0629

 

4 Responses to “This is why I’m not “Wannabe Baker””

  1. peabody Says:

    😦
    Bummer. I am sorry they didn’t turn out.
    How long did you freeze the cookie dough truffles for?

    • amsterwill83 Says:

      Hi! I froze the truffles overnight, then added them to the dough straight from the freezer. I’m not sure what happened. I’m not much of a baker… but I thought maybe the butter made the cookies spread and margarine would have been better?? I have no idea. They did still taste good, though!

  2. Kim Says:

    Don’t worry, it’s not you…it’s the recipe…I tried it with the same results……..VERY disappointing…one big ugly, flat, hot mess.

  3. […] bake here.  Oh, and you can also read about another time I tried to bake and how it turned out here.  This year, I wanted to make just a little something to bring to our neighbors and to work.  I […]


Leave a Reply

