WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Changes? October 27, 2009

Filed under: Chicken,Pasta,Products,Side dish,Ziggy — WannaBe Chef @ 7:58 pm

I’ve deemed this week “use what we already have week” as far as dinners go.  While practical, this does not make for very pretty or blogworthy meals.  Last night I made chipotle tuna sandwiches and baked beans with turkey bacon… using up quite a bit of leftovers.  Tonight I made whole wheat spaghetti and diced chicken tossed with leftover cilantro pesto and spaghetti sauce.  I also roasted a butterCUP squash last night and finished that up.  Strange combination, I know, but it was pretty tasty!

IMG_0503

Another reason I’ve been MIA the past few days is probably due to my latest obsession, which is reading a whole new genre of healthy/vegetarian/vegan/food diary-ish blogs.  To be honest, I’ve sort of fallen prey to that whole “letting yourself go” thing.  It’s been 6 months since I got married, and yeeeahh… pretty sure I wouldn’t be able to fit in my wedding dress anymore!  Yikes.  So anyway, these blogs have at least inspired me to try some new things and think about organic/raw/”clean” eating in a different way.  I’ve been thinking about it so much, actually, that I took the opportunity this past weekend to buy all this glorious stuff:

IMG_0504   

In the mix: 
*Whole grain Wasa crackers (vessel for countless toppings and spreads)
*Lindt dark chocolate bar with a touch of sea salt (umm, YUM)
*Falafel mix
*Bluberry fruit leathers
*Oat bran
*Steel cut oats
*Pitted dates
*True Lemon packets
*Hummus (honestly, not the greatest brand here)
*My absolute favorite Naturally More peanut butter that I’ve been eating for a few years now.  It’s ridiculously more healthy than standard PBs.  I’ve officially converted about 5 or 6 people.  Click the link and read about it. 
*Lastly, you will see the best thing I’ve eaten in a long time and can’t believe I’ve lived without for 26 years… ALMOND BUTTER.  Expensive, but freaking awesome.  Holy crap.   
*Oh, and this Strawberry Greek yogurt that got left out (14 grams of protein in this sucker!)

IMG_0495

So, I’m not sure which direction this blog will be going in.  Instead of strictly recipes, it might be a little of this and little of that for awhile!  And just for a little more randomness… I give you another picture of my furry son.  This is where we found him last night.

IMG_0494

 

One Response to “Changes?”

  1. Salli Says:

    Amanda – your furry son is a darling! Hey, Wayno gave me a taste of your hummus today. It was YUMMY, and I am not even a hummus-lover. I couldn’t find your recipe on here. Could you send it to me?


Leave a Reply

