WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Frank, Joe, and Ziggy October 19, 2009

Filed under: Chicken,Sandwiches,Ziggy — WannaBe Chef @ 7:25 pm

Wayne and I love anything with Frank’s hot sauce.  We have a bottle (the giant one) in our fridge at any given time.  I saw this recipe on a re-run of 30 Minute Meals not long ago and knew I had to make it.  As annoying as Rachael Ray can be sometimes (sorry to any diehards out there!), she really does have some good recipes and ideas.  In fact, I recently subscribed to her magazine.  Anyway… on with it!

Sloppy Buffalo Joes
From Rachael Ray 

  • 2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 2 pounds ground chicken or turkey breast (I used 1 pound chicken)
  • 1 carrot, peeled and chopped or grated
  • 2 stalks celery, chopped
  • 1 yellow onion, finely chopped
  • 2 to 3 cloves garlic, finely chopped or grated
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 2 tablespoons red wine vinegar (I used 1 Tbsp)
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar (I used 1 Tbsp)
  • 1 tablespoon Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/4 to 1/3 cup hot sauce (recommended: Frank’s Red Hot) (I used 2 Tbsp and the heat was perfect for us)
  • 1 cup tomato sauce (I used 1/2 cup)
  • 1 cup chicken stock (I used 1/2 cup)
  • 8 good quality burger rolls, split and toasted
  • 1 cup blue cheese crumbles
  • 2 large dill pickles, chopped

Heat a large skillet with extra-virgin olive oil over medium-high heat. Add meat and break it up with wooden spoon, cook 5 to 6 minutes. Add in carrots, celery, onions and garlic, season with salt and freshly ground black pepper, cook 7 to 8 minutes more. In a bowl combine the vinegar, sugar, Worcestershire, hot sauce, tomato sauce and stock. Pour into the pan and stir to combine. Simmer a few minutes more. Pile sloppy Buffalo filling onto buns and top with blue cheese and chopped pickles.

IMG_0471

The verdict:  These were really yummy!  Or should I say, YUMMO!  Quick note about blue (bleu?) cheese… I’ve never cared for it.  I try to like it, and I want to like it… but I could only tolerate a couple crumbles on my sandwich.  Someday, maybe! 

Now, because I can’t resist showing off my crazy cat

IMG_0457

who sits like a squirrel...

politely surfs the net...

politely surfs the net...

and enjoys a nice nap with Daddy!

and enjoys a nice nap with Daddy!

 

One Response to “Frank, Joe, and Ziggy”

  1. Ashley Says:

    Awww what a cutie-pie lil kitten face!


Leave a Reply

