WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Finally. October 14, 2009

Filed under: Sweets — WannaBe Chef @ 8:11 pm

I’ve been wanting to make these Pumpkin and Cream Cheese Truffles for like the past month now.  I’m not entirely sure why I’ve been putting it off… probably that whole who’s-going-to-eat-all-these?? dilemma.  Honestly, I’ve just been obsessed with them ever since I saw them on Erin’s Food Files, and I gave in.  Erin got the recipe from Whole Foods.  I have to admit, after reading the recipes, reviews, and comments… I was a little intimidated because it sounded like there were some problems with rolling the truffles.  I made quite a few small changes, all of which are shown below! 

Pumpkin-Cream Cheese Truffles

Makes about 30 (I got 20 truffles, to get 30 they would have to be teeny-tiny!)

Ingredients

2½ cups white chocolate chunks (I used almond bark for both the filling and coating)
1/3 cup gingersnap cookie crumbs, plus more for garnish (I omitted and used graham cracker crumbs)
1/4 cup canned pumpkin purée
1/4 cup graham cracker crumbs, plus more for garnish
1 tablespoon confectioners’ sugar (I didn’t put this into the filling, see notes at the end of post)
1/2 teaspoon orange zest
1/8 teaspoon ground cinnamon (I used more and also added some pumpkin pie spice)
Pinch of fine salt
2 ounces cream cheese, softened (I used more, maybe 2.5 – 3 ounces)

Method

 Melt 1/2 cup of the chocolate in a double boiler over medium-low heat or in the microwave for about 1 minute. Stir often to keep the chocolate from burning. Transfer to a large bowl. Add gingersnap crumbs, pumpkin, graham cracker crumbs, sugar, zest, cinnamon, salt and cream cheese and beat with an electric mixer until smooth. Transfer to a shallow bowl, cover and chill until just solid enough to roll into balls, about 2 hours (I chilled it overnight).

Line a large sheet tray with parchment paper. Melt remaining 2 cups chocolate and transfer to a small, deep bowl. Roll 1 heaping teaspoon of the pumpkin mixture into a ball in your hands, then drop into the chocolate. Working quickly, gently spoon chocolate over to coat. Using a small spoon or fork, lift the truffle out of the chocolate, shake off excess and transfer to prepared sheet tray. Dollop a bit of extra chocolate on any parts that remain exposed, then sprinkle a few gingersnap or graham cracker crumbs over the top, if you like. Repeat process with remaining pumpkin mixture and chocolate, then chill truffles until chocolate is completely set, about 1 hour.

OK, so the filling was very sticky, despite chilling overnight.  I rolled the truffles first before getting the chocolate ready.  I put them in the freezer for about 20-30 minutes to firm up before coating in chocolate.  It would probably be better if they were frozen solid, but I have no patience for that.  I found that dusting my hands with powdered sugar before rolling each truffle helped a little.  I did have to wash my hands after each 5-6 truffles.  I only took out a few at a time from the freezer to work with.  What a pain!

IMG_0445

Aaah, I miss my natural light!  They’re much more vibrant looking in real life.  Anyway… these were really good.  Obviously I had to eat one for the sake of showing you the inside 😉  They’re kind of messy and time-consuming, but worth it!

 

Leave a Reply

