WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

Blog stalking October 12, 2009

Filed under: Beef,Crockpot — WannaBe Chef @ 7:01 pm

I still have a somewhat miserable cold that continues to linger.  My sense of taste is definitely dulled, and my appetite isn’t the greatest either (which is extremely uncommon for me).  I worked all weekend, so when I got home last night, I was having a real hard time coming up with meals for the week.  I almost just gave up, nothing even sounded good.  So in a last ditch effort, I went blog hunting and found this new blog… Loki’s Kitchen.  It’s awesome because we have the same taste in blog layouts, both live in MI, both recently married, and both have a wild and crazy cat.  Apparently we have the same taste in food, too, because I found myself saving quite a few recipes from this blog.  Aaaand I plan on making like 3 of them this week.  Gotta love one-stop shopping for dinner ideas!!  Thanks to Loki!

Crockpot Steak Fajitas
From Loki’s Kitchen

Ingredients:
1 lb flank steak, cut crosswise then into strips (***see my note at the end of the post!)
1 medium onion
1/2 cup salsa, medium, plus additional for garnish
2 tbsp fresh chopped cilantro (I used more cuz I looove cilantro)
2 tbsp fresh lime juice
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 tbsp chili powder
1 tsp ground cumin
1/2 tsp salt
1 small green bell pepper, cut into strips (I omitted and used all red peppers)
1 small red bell pepper, cut into strips
Flour tortillas, warmed
*I also added a package of sliced, fresh mushrooms

Directions:
Put the meat into the crock pot. Add the onions and the salsa, cilantro, lime juice, garlic, chili powder, cumin, and salt into the crock pot. Mix up. Cook on low for 5 to 6 hours (My crockpot, of course, cooks in about half the time… ugh!).

1 hour prior to eating, add the peppers (and mushrooms, if using) and cook for 1 more hour.

Serve on warm flour tortillas (I topped with cheese, tomatoes, and sour cream).

IMG_0440

The verdict:  These were really tasty!  The flank steak gets really tender, and I love all the flavors of the lime and spices together.  Good stuff!

***Ok, so I totally had to google “How to cut flank steak” because I’ve never used it before.  I was pretty sure I knew how, but i didn’t want to risk messing it up because it wasn’t cheap, and I didn’t want to be chewing on tough meat after all that.  I found this video to be helpful.  I didn’t freeze the meat first, and it still worked just fine.

 

One Response to “Blog stalking”

  1. lokiangel Says:

    Awww, you’re so sweet! Thank you for the mushroom idea, that sounds fantastic!


Leave a Reply

