WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

I got nothin’… October 11, 2009

Filed under: Chicken,Soup — WannaBe Chef @ 6:24 pm

I came across this recipe just today.  I thought mmmm that looks really good, but I doubt I have all the ingredients on hand.  I started reading the recipe, and holy crap!  I had everything!  Sunday dinner mystery solved. 

White Chicken Chili
Found on Le Petit Peirogi

1 lb. BS chicken, cubed (about 2 large breasts)
1 onion, chopped
1-1/2 t. garlic powder (I also used fresh, minced garlic instead)
1 T. oil
2 15 ½ oz. cans Great Northern beans, drained and rinsed
14 ½ oz. can chicken broth
2 4 oz. cans green chilies (I, too, thought 1 can was plenty!)
1 t. salt
1 t. ground cumin
1 t. dried oregano
½ t. pepper
¼ t. cayenne pepper
8 oz. container sour cream
½ cup whipping cream (I used a couple splashes of milk instead)
aprox. 1/4 cup shredded sharp cheddar (I omitted this)

In a large saucepan over medium heat, sauté chicken, onion and garlic powder in oil until no longer pink. Add beans, broth, chilies and seasonings; bring to a boil. Reduce heat; simmer, uncovered for 30 minutes. Remove from heat; stir in sour cream and whipping cream. Top with a sprinkle of cheddar. Serve immediately.

I also had some flour tortillas in the fridge and decided I needed to make some crispy strips to put on my chili…

Oven-fried tortilla strips
*My own creation

1 burrito-size flour tortilla
canola oil
salt
cumin

Cut tortilla into thin, short strips (fits on the spoon better when you’re eating the soup!).  Toss strips in canola oil.  Place in a single layer on foil-lined baking sheet.  Sprinkle with salt and cumin.  Bake at 450 until golden brown and crispy. 

IMG_0439

The verdict:  Mmmm, I looove me some white chicken chili!  The only thing I might do next time is omit the teaspoon of salt or reduce it to 1/4-1/2 teaspoon.  I love me some salt too, but it was just a touch too much.

 

Leave a Reply

