WannaBe Chef

Recipes and randomness from Amanda's kitchen.

My Baking Itch September 28, 2009

Filed under: Sweets — WannaBe Chef @ 7:14 pm

So ever since fall has arrived, I’ve had the itch to bake.  This is a little strange for me because normally I do not like to bake.  Why, you ask?  Number one, there’s way too much required measuring involved.  Two, there are a lot of bowls, spoons and cups that get dirty.  Three, I’m way too impatient to let the finished product “cool,” for the butter to soften, or for the toothpick to come out clean.  And four, the last thing I need is a whole pan/batch of sweets sitting around!  SO, when Wayne mentioned it was his co-worker’s birthday, I saw it as the perfect opportunity to bake something yummy.  I saw this recipe over on Beantown Baker and thought I would give it a try!  Click link for recipe… I followed it exactly except that I used much less frosting on top.  I cut ’em up and put them on my festive leaf plate. 

IMG_0395

IMG_0398

The verdict:  Hooooly crap these were good!  Very dense and rich, mmmm!  And yes, I had to sample just one before sending them off.  Hopefully Wayne’s co-workers liked them, too!

 

3 Responses to “My Baking Itch”

  1. Sue Sanders Says:

    Amanda – the brownies were fabulous, and I can assure you that ALL of Wayne’s co-workers (as well as his boss) enjoyed them immensely. And I love your blog, too! I come from a long line of bakers, so it is very hard for me to resist baked goods, especially anything with yeast in it. And, like my mom, I love to read recipes and cook books for fun. So, thanks for taking time to share your cooking experiences. By the way, we are so glad to have Wayne back in the office – it was not the same with out him. Take care – Sue

  2. Mom Says:

    Holy smokes..those brownies look soooo good! I think I gained a couple pounds just looking at the picture! Can’t wait to see you this weekend (with at least one of those brownies). ha

  3. […] Unfortunately, it just never happens because… well, you can read why I don’t bake here.  Oh, and you can also read about another time I tried to bake and how it turned out here.  […]


Leave a Reply

